To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Holy Trinity Gough Square, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Holy Trinity Gough Square
Holy Trinity Gough Square

London Holy Trinity Gough Square ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holy Trinity Gough Square, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Holy Trinity was built in response to St Bride, Fleet Street's need for a sister church to serve its growing population. Situated in Pemberton Row the social reformer Charles Booth noted it served the area's poorer citizens . As the century wore on legislation was passed to reduce the number of City churches and after a short, but worthy, existence the then Bishop of London authorised the reunification of the two parishes, the proceeds from the sale going towards the building of St Mellitus, Hanwell.

From: The Holy Trinity Gough Square 

1848 description
Trinity District Church is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Vicar.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Holy Trinity Gough Square parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[2][3][4]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
Holy Trinity Gough Square Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1843-1906 1843-1906 1879-1905 1879-1905

ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1842-1874
1869-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1842-1906
1842-1906
1842-1906

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Holy Trinity Gough Square.png

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  2. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  3. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.