Holt County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Holt County
 

Guide to Holt County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: O’Neill
Organized: January 13, 1860
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Antelope  • Boyd  • Garfield  • Keya Paha  • Knox  • Loup  • Rock  • Wheeler
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaHoltCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Holt County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

Holt County is bounded on the north by the Niobrara River, on the east by Knox and Antelope, on the south by Wheeler, on the west by unorganized territory. [2] It is named for Joseph Holt of Kentucky, who was Postmaster General and Secretary of War under President James Buchanan.[3]

County Courthouse

Holt County Courthouse
204 N. 4th Street
P.O. Box 329
O’Neill, NE 68763-0329
Phone: 402.336.1762
Holt County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1878.
County Judge has probate and court records from 1882.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1879.
Clerk District Court has divorce records from 1879. [1]

Holt County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1862 1862 1862 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Holt County, Nebraska:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Holt County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 3,287
1890 13,672 315.9%
1900 12,224 −10.6%
1910 15,545 27.2%
1920 17,151 10.3%
1930 16,509 −3.7%
1940 16,552 0.3%
1950 14,489 −12.5%
1960 13,722 −5.3%
1970 12,933 −5.7%
1980 13,552 4.8%
1990 12,599 −7.0%
2000 11,551 −8.3%
2010 10,435 −9.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Holt County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Holt County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Neholt.png

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Holt - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Holt County Historical Society
    401 East Douglas St
    O'Neill, NE 68763
    Phone: 402-336-2344
  • North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 376
    ONeill, NE 68763
  • North Central Nebraska Historical Society
    General Delivery
    Stuart, NE 68780

Websites

  • NEGenWeb
  • USGenWeb
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/holt/ accessed 10/27/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hitchcock_County,_Nebraska accessed 10/27/2016
  4. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992