Holt County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Holt County

Guide to Holt County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Oregon
Organized: January 29, 1841
Parent County(s): Platte Purchase[1]
Neighboring Counties
Andrew  • Atchison  • Doniphan (KS)  • Nemaha (NE)  • Nodaway  • Richardson (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriHoltCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Holt County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for David Rice Holt. The County has Oregon as its seat and the County was created February 15, 1841. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Holt County Courthouse
100 W Nodaway Street
Oregon, MO 64473
Phone: 660-446-3303
Holt County Website

County Clerk has incomplete birth and death records 1883-1893, marriage, divorce, land records from 1841.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records 1841.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1849.[3]

Holt County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1841 1883 1841 1841 1849 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1965 There was a courthouse fire in February 1965, but the records were saved.

Boundary Changes

  • 1841 Holt County was created January 29, 1841 from the Platte Purchase.
  • County seat: Oregon[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Holt County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Holt County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Holt County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The History of Holt and Atchison Counties, Missouri. 1882. St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History of Holt County, 1882. By Holt County Historical Society. 1973. Cassville, Missouri : Holt County Historical Society. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History of Holt County, Missouri. 1916? St. Joseph, Missouri : Midland Print. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

Holt CountyAtchison CountyNodaway CountyWorth CountyGentry CountyAndrew CountyClinton CountyBuchanan CountyNemaha CountyOtoe CountyBrown CountyNemaha CountyAtchison CountyDoniphan CountyRichardson CountyJackson CountyDeKalb CountyMOHolt1.JPG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Holt County, Missouri for European settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Holt County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Holt County, Missouri:

- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union, Company L
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holt County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Northwest Missouri Genealogical Society
    412 Felix Street
    Saint Joseph, MO 64501
    Phone: 816-233-0524
    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 382
    Saint Joseph, MO 64502
    Website

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Holt, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holt_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/11/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Holt County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.