Holsteinborg Parish, Sorø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sorø County
Holsteinborg

History

Holsteinborg was created by Count Holstein on 19 July 1728 and confirmed 9 August 1728. For earlier records see Hyllested parish. By royal decree dated 22 June 1820 it was decided at the next vacancy in the Kvislemark chapelry, Bisserup hamlet should be transferred from Fyrendal to Holsteinborg parish. This vacancy occurred in 1822. If your ancestor lived in Bisserup, check Holsteinborg for later records.

Holsteinborg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Hyllested-Venslev-Holsteinborg (1729-Post-1891), Ørslev-Sønder Bjerge-Venslev-Holsteinborg-Tjæreby (Post-1891-Post-2000), Magleby-Ørslev-Holsteinsborg (Post-2000-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Korsør
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sorø
Herred (district) Vester Flakkebjerg
Kommune (municipality) Holsteinborg-Venslev
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 18
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 81
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/296
Gods (estate) Holmegård gods; Broksø gods; Holsteinborg grevskab; Københavns stads og magistrats gods; Universitetets gods; Holsteinborg birk Birketing


Place Names

Bisserup, Bisserup Kro, Bisserup Strand, Bisserup, Lb,.

Holsteinborg, Holsteinborg, Hgd.,

Kalvenæs,

Mineslyst, Gd., Murmester Huset,

Olstrup, Olstrup Gaarde, Olstrup, Lb.,

Rude, Rude Mølle, Rude Tinghus, Rude, Lb.

Skjeldhuset, Strædet, Stærrede, Stærrede, Lb., Stærredsholm,

Øksnebjerg


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sorø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Sorø" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921