Holmsland Klit Parish, Ringkøbing, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ringkøbing County
Holmsland Klit
Holmsland Klit Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Ribe Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Holmsland Klit Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ringkøbing
Herred (district) Hind
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number Add Here
Gods (estate) Lars Rindums gods; Søndervang gods; Ulfborg Herredsret; Hind Herredsret


History

Until January 1, 2007 Holmsland was a municipality in Ringkjøbing County on the west coast of the Jutland peninsula in west Denmark. The municipality covered an area on a narrow strip of land, Holmsland Dunes, which is connected to the mainland on the north and south, and bounded on the east by Ringkøbing Fjord and on the west by the North Sea. The main town and site of its municipal council was the town of Hvide Sande.
The municipality was created in 1970 due to a Municipality Reform that combined a number of existing parishes, Gammelsogn, Holmsland Klit and Nysogn.
Holmsland municipality ceased to exist due to The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with existing Egvad, Ringkøbing, Skjern, and Videbæk municipalities to form the new Ringkøbing-Skjern municipality. The new municipality belongs to the Region Midtjylland ("Mid-Jutland Region").
[1]

Place Names:

Bavnebjerg, Bavnebjerg, Bjergeborg Strand, Bjerregaard, Brunkrog,

Dæmonsbjerg, Dødemandsbjerg,

Fiskerbod Bjerg,

Gammelhus Bjerge,

Hansnæs Bjerg, Haurvig, Havrvig, Havrvig Kirke, Hegnet, Holmsland Klit, Hvide Sande,

Karen Brands Bjerg, Klegod,

Lille Oles Bjerg, Lyngvig Kirke,

Mamrelund, Månedskrog Bjerg,

Nymandsbjerg, Nørre Havrvig, Nørre Lyngvig, Nørresand,

Olsens Pold,

Renderne, Riskrog Bjerg,

Skelhage, Skodbjerge, Stormodden, Sælhundebanke, Sønder Havrvig, Sønder Lyngvig, Søndersand,

Troldbjerg, Tyvmose, Tyvmose Bjerg,

Årgab

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Ringkøbing Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Ringkøbing" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.8, Ringkøbing Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1928