Holmes County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Holmes County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Millersburg
Organized: January 4, 1825
Parent County(s): Coshocton, Tuscarawas, Wayne[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashland  • Wayne  • Stark  • Tuscarawas  • Coshocton  • Knox
See County Maps
Courthouse
Holmes County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
OH holmes.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named after Andrew Holmes, an officer killed in the War of 1812. It is located in the Mid-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Holmes County Courthouse
1 E Jackson St
Millersburg, OH 44654
Phone: 330-674-1876
Holmes County Website

Probate Court has birth and death records 1867-1982, marriage and probate records from 1825 and naturalization records;
Clerk Circuit has divorce and court records;
County Recorder has land and military records;
County Library has burial and census records[3]

Holmes County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1825 1867 1825 1808 1825 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [6]

Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Commemorative biographical record of the counties of Wayne and Holmes, Ohio: containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and of many of the early settled families (Chicago: J.H.Beers & Co., 1889). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Hathitrust

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Holmes County, Ohio online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 9,135
1840 18,088 98.0%
1850 20,452 13.1%
1860 20,589 0.7%
1870 18,177 −11.7%
1880 20,776 14.3%
1890 21,139 1.7%
1900 19,511 −7.7%
1910 17,909 −8.2%
1920 16,965 −5.3%
1930 16,726 −1.4%
1940 17,876 6.9%
1950 18,760 4.9%
1960 21,591 15.1%
1970 23,024 6.6%
1980 29,416 27.8%
1990 32,849 11.7%
2000 38,943 18.6%
2010 42,366 8.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.

  • Holmes County Historical Society, Holmes County Historical Sketches: Ohio Bicentennial Edition, 1803-2003, (Holmes County Historical Society, 2002). FHL fiche 6007465; book 977.164 H2ho
  • Holmes County History Book Committee, Holmes County Ohio to 1985, (Salem, West Virginia: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1985). FHL book 977.164 H2hc
  • Egger, Donald, Holmes County, Ohio: Flashes from the Past, (Library Archives of Holmes County, 1963). FHL book 977.1 A1
  • Stiffler, A.J., The standard atlas of Holmes County, Ohio: to which is added an authentic history of the county, historical sketches of each township and village, biographies and portraits of representative men - 1875 & 1907 combined (Cincinnati: The Standard Atlas Publishing Co., 1987) Online at FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Troyer, Clarence, History of villages, people, places in eastern Holmes County (1975) Online at FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Holmes County OH Histories and Genealogies at LDS Genealogy

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ashland CountyWayne CountyStark CountyTuscarawas CountyCoshocton CountyKnox CountyOH HOLMES.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County.

- 102nd Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and G
- 166th Regiment, Ohio Infantry (National Guard), Companies A, I and K

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Holmes County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Ohio newspaper information see Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Holmes County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Holmes County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Holmes County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Holmes County District Public Library
3102 Glen Dr
Millersburg, OH 44654
330-674-5972
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Killbuck Valley Historical Society and Museum
145 W Front St
Killbuck, OH 44637
330-763-0133
E-mail:kbkbobbi@gmail.com

Holmes County Historical Society
484 Wooster Rd
Millersburg, OH 44654
330-674-0022
Website

The Amish & Mennonite Heritage Center
5798 County Road 77
Millersburg, OH 44654
330-893-3192
E-mail:director@amheritagecenter.com
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Holmes County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.

Holmes County Genealogical Society
PO Box 136
Millersburg, OH 44654-0136
330-674-1913
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Holmes County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/holmes/ accessed 2/17/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Holmes County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holmes_County,_Ohio, accessed 17 December 2018.