Holbrook, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Holbrook, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1833|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Holbrook is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1811 from chapelry in Duffield Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Bargate, Coxbench, Day Park, and Holbrook Moor.
HOLBROOK, a chapelry, in the parish of Duffield, union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Belper. The Independents and Wesleyans have a place of worship. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Holbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Holbrook St Michael (1834) Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Holbrook on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 524-527. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.