Holborn St Andrew, Middlesex Genealogy
Guide to Holborn St Andrew, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Holborn St Andrew, Middlesex|
London St Andrew Holborn Church
|Hundred||London, Within the Walls; Ossulstone (Holborn Division)|
|Poor Law Union||Holborn|
|Registration District||Holborn; West London|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1833-35|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of London|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Church Records
- 2.2 Census records
- 2.2.1 1541 Subsidy
- 2.2.2 1547 Subsidy
- 2.2.3 1564 Subsidy
- 2.2.4 1577 Subsidy
- 2.2.5 1582 Subsidy
- 2.2.6 1589 Subsidy
- 2.2.7 1600 Subsidy
- 2.2.8 1622 Subsidy
- 2.2.9 1625 Subsidy
- 2.2.10 1645 Subsidy
- 2.2.11 1666 Hearth Tax
- 2.2.12 1667 Hearth Tax
- 2.2.13 1692-1932 Land Taxes
- 2.2.14 1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid
- 2.3 Civil Registration
- 2.4 Probate Records
- 2.5 Cemetery
- 2.6 Poor Law Unions
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
"Holborn St Andrews, the church of, stands at the northwest corner of Holborn hill and Shoe Lane, and is dedicated to St Andrew the Apostle, who is distinguished in church history as the earliest of the apostles and as having suffered martyrdom in Achaia. There was a church on this site as early as the year 1297, which escaped the fire of 1666, but ten years after, being found too ruinous for reparation, it was taken down, except the tower, in 1686, and the present church erected in its place by Sir Christopher Wren. It is one of the finest and most appropriate Protestant churches in Europe. Its exterior is plain, simple and unpretending; consisting of a basement under the galleries, with low windows which light the aisles, and an upper story semicircular headed windows for the galleries and nave; crowned by a well proportioned cornice, blocking course and balustrade. The tower, which is the ancient one, nearly faced with Portland stone ashlering in 1704, is square and to taste. The interior is spacious, rich and beautiful, consisting of a nave and two aisles, divided in height into a ground story and galleries. The living is a rectory worth £600 a year. The patronage was originally in the gift of the Dean and Cannons of St Paul's, who transferred it to the Abbot and Convent of Bermondsey, who continued to be its patrons till their dissolution by Henry VIII, when that monarch granted it to Thomas, Lord Wriothesley, afterwards Earl of Southampton, from whom it descended, by marriage , to the late Duke of Montague."
This parish belonged to Farringdon Ward Without.
St. Andrew Holborn is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is, the Duke of Buccleuch.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|Indexes||1558-1868||FamilySearch||1754-1812||Find My Past||1653||findmypast|
A page from the parish register is missing for the year 1717.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census records[edit | edit source]
1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Without - Saynt Andrewes Paryssheat British History Online
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1576 London Subsidy Roll, St Andrewes in Holborne at Alan H. Nelson website (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252)
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Without - St Andrewes Parishe in Holborneat British History Online
1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Digital Library has the London Subsidy Roll, c.1589 - St Andrewes in Holborne Parisheat Family History Archives (see page 160)
1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1600 - Lay Subsidy Returns for London, Middlesex, Surrey (north) 1593-1600: Higheholborne, Higheholborne adhuc, Holborne Ende (TNA E179/142/234) at Alan H. Nelson website - free
1622 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/515); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew, Holborn, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 11); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Andrew Holbornat British History Online - free.
- Hearth Tax: Middlesex 1666 - St Andrew Holborn at British History Online - free.
1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
- St Andrew Holborn, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, Holborn St Andrew, Middlesex Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the name of the court having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Transcripts of early Holborn St Andrew, Middlesex Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.
Find A Grave has a page about St Andrew Holborn Church monumental inscriptions.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- Holborn St Andrew on GENUKI
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- St Andrew Holborn (official website). Photographs, history, visitor directions.
References[edit | edit source]
- James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Described as St Andrew Holborn in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Holborn in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Holborn in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Holborn in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batches C010511, C010512, C010513, C020836, C020837, C020838, C020839, C025561, P010514, P010515, P010516, P010517, P010518, P010519, P020831, P020832, P020833, P020834, P020835 (1869-1875, inactive 11/2/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'A Note on St. Andrews, Holborn Parish Register,' Genealogists' Magazine, Vol. 10 (1947-1950):452.
- "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.