To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hocking County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hocking County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Hocking County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Hocking County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Hocking County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Hocking County Courthouse
1 East Main Street
Logan, Ohio 43138
Hocking County Website


Hocking County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1818 1867 1818 1818 1819 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from the Hocking River, the origins of which are disputed but is said to be a Delaware Indian word meaning "bottle river". It's county seat is Logan and was founded 3 January 1818. It is located in the South-central area of the state.[3]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Pickaway County  • Ross County  • Vinton County  • Athens County  • Perry County  • Fairfield County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census and Directories[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding Church Records at Other Repositories

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Maniskas, Judith S., Logan and Hocking County, (Charleston, South Carolina: Arcadia Publishing, 2011). Digital copy at Google Books


Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Many Land Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Fairfield CountyPerry CountyAthens CountyVinton CountyRoss CountyPickaway CountyOH HOCKING.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

  • Civil War
- Civil War service men from Lucas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lucas County.
- 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies H and I
- Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
- Hocking County, Ohio Civil War
- Civil War Research Database $
- Civil War Pension Index: General Indes to Pension Files, 1861-1934 $
- Morgan's Raiders Ride Through Athens, Hocking and Perry Counties
- 58th Ohio Infantry Regiment (Union)
- 63rd Ohio Infantry Regiment (Union)

  • World War I
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- Ohio Military Men 1917-1918 $

  • World War II
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- Hocking County, Ohio WW II Army Enlistment Records 1838-1946
- Draft Registration Cards, 1942
- Young America Patriots 1941-1945
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing
- Hocking County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force

  • Many Military Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

  • Many Newspapers for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
  • Many Obituaries for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hocking County Courthouse
1 East Main Street
Logan, OH 43138-1207
Phone:740.385.3022

Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records;
County Health Depart has death records; Clerk Court
has divorce and court records from 1873; County Recorder
has land records[5]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Schools[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

  • Hocking County Vital Records
  • Many Vital Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hocking County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Hocking County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hocking_County%2C_Ohio accessed 2/17/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Hocking County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hocking_County,_Ohio, accessed 17 December 2018.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hocking County, Ohio. Page 542 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.