Hockham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Hockham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wayland|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1705|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
HOCKHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. W.) from Larlingford. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship in the parish.
Hockham Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the Rockland deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hockham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hockham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 486/1-9 Great with Little Hockham
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/Hockham.htm transcript of 1891 census
MacArthur, Avril. Bush and Linstead of Gt Hockham. History of the family and descendents of James Bush, and Rebecca nee Algate, with one a descendant Mary Ann Bush, going to Tasmania. Article has surnames of Fisher, Blacklow, Linstead, Pawsey, Article covers years 1807-1995, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 8 pt. 3, pages 176-178, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v. 8, pt 3, Sept. 2011.
Squires, R.D. From Norfolk to London. Family tree of Robert James Squires and Mary Ann Syzling, and descendants with surnames. Tucker, Hill, Clark, De Vigie, Thompson, Read, Fitzwilliam Birch, Land, Brooks. Family move to Snetterton, Hockham, London - Southwark, and Crayford, Kent. Article dated 1851-1971, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol5.pt.4, page78-79. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.5, pt. 4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Hockham on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- Church History and Images
- history of the church
- Literary Norfolk website
- British History online
- British Listed Building
- Hockham on Norfolk Churches
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 521-524. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.