To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hjelmeland Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hjelmeland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hjelmeland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Hjelmeland
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Hjelmeland, Aardal
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hjelmeland church.jpg

Hjelmeland, Fister and Årdal parishes make up Hjelmeland clerical district. Records begin in 1760. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Hjelmeland: 1799-1816

Hjelmeland / Hjelmeland: 1760-1997

Hjelmeland / Hjelmeland, Fister, Årdal: 1760-1997

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt III Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Hjelmeland clerical district includes Hjelmeland, Fister, and Årdal parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Hielmeland Database

The 1835 census for Hjelmeland clerical district which includes the following parishes: Hjelmeland, Fister and Årdal. Includes the farm names, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, poor people, servants, occupation, sex, age, birthdate, in some cases death date and some other miscellaneous information.

Folketelling Hjelmeland, 1835-1855

A photo copy of the microfilm copy of the actual 1835 and 1855 censuses for Hjelmeland clerical district in Rogaland county, Norway. It includes these parishes: Hjelmeland, Årdal, and Fister. The typed register lists the farm name, parish name, year of the census and the number of the page in the photo copy book where the entry is found in the census.

The 1855 census for Hjelmeland clerical district, Rogaland county includes these parishes: Hjelmeland, Fister, and Årdal. It lists the farm name, persons name, age, some birth dates, and other misc. information. The 1865 census lists statistics only.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Hjelmeland Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Hjelmeland Database

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Hjelmeland police station
*1903-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Hjelmeland and Fister communities in Rogaland County, Norway.

Brandal, Trygve, "Hjelmeland: gardar og folk", Hjelmeland: Hjelmeland Kommune, c1989-1990. Vol. 1. Gardane på nordsida av Randøy, på Ombo, Jøsneset of i Jøsefjorden -- Vol. 2. Gardane i Vormedal, Hjelmeland, og Asvik -- Vol. 3. Fister og sørside av Randøy. 948.31/H4 D2 FHL Intl Book. Farm name indexes to volumes 1-3 are found in the following links. File:948.31-H5 D2b v1 - HJELMELA.pdf, File:948.31-H5 D2b v2 - HJELMELA 2.pdf, File:948.31-H5 D2b V3 - Hjelmela 3.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

16 Aasland, 65 Askvig, 15 Asseim, 8 Augland med Skaar indre,

20 Bastlien, 47 Bjelland indre, 1 Breiebø, 46 Breiland, 3 Breivig,

26 Dale indre,

23 Eidene indre, 52 Einarvold, 68 Espeland,

54 Fevold nedre, 47 Fjosvigen, 5 Flaadene, 17 Foss, 18 Fossaaen, 39 Fossene,
37 Funningsland, 34 Førde,

31 Gil,

57 Hagali, 1 Hankallevigen, 8 Haug, 30 Hauge nedre, 69 Hausken,
48 Hegland, 11 Helgeland, 44 Helgeland, 19 Hellebergvigen, 49 Hetland indre,
1 Hetlevigen, 65 Hundsnes, 51 Husstøl,

50 Jørmeland,

42 Kleiveland, 64 Kleppe, 43 Kløv, 12 Knudsvig nordre, 66 Kro, 29 Kromshagen,
56 Kvamme,

67 Larstøl, 45 Laugeland, 17 Lillebø,

70 Mjølhus, 41 Mæland,

19 Nesvig,

59 Præstegaarden, 63 Pundsnes,

38 Raulende, 25 Ravnsfjeld indre, 43 Ritland, 6 Rossaaen, 61 Røgelstad,

62 Sande, 33 Segedal, 7 Skaar ytre, 14 Skiftun, 47 Skogen, 55 Steinsland, 58 Sæbø,

10 Tjeltveid, 9 Tuftene, 60 Tuntland, 40 Tveiden, 39 Tøtland,

28 Valle, 21 Varene, 4 Vestersø, 71 Vige, 47 Vigene, 36 Vormeland,
35 Vormelandsvigen,

1 Øie, 2 Øiehavn, 27 Østerhus


References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names