Hjartdal Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Hjartdal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Hjartdal Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Hjartdal |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Hjartdal |
| Fogderi | Øvre Telemarken |
| Sorenskriveri | Øvre Telemarken østfjeldske |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Hjartdal clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Hjartdal, Sauland and Tuddal. Included Gransherad parish until 1859.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1685-1907.
Hjartdal clerical district 1685-1969
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Hjartdal clerical district, including Gransherad, Lisleherad, Tuddal, and Sauland parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included Gransherad, Lisleherad, Tuddal, and Sauland parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1730 Sjeleregister: A 1730 sjelereigster for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included Gransherad, Lisleherad, Tuddal, and Sauland parishes exists and microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- 1782: A special 1782 census for Hjartdal clerical district, including the parishes Gransherad, Lisleherad, Tuddal, and Sauland used to be available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801: The 1801 census for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Gransherad, Lisleherad, Tuddal, and Sauland is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865: The 1865 census for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included Tuddal and Sauland, is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: The 1875 for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Tuddal and Sauland, is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Tuddal and Sauland, is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: for Hjartdal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Tuddal and Sauland, is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Hjartdal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900, and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
5 Aabø nedre 37 Aakre 10 Aarhus 43 Aasen 1 Ambjørndalen 26 Aslaugberg
27 Berge nordre 53 Bergsland 28 Bjørnkjøn 2 Bollaas 19 Bosdal 7 Bratsberg 44 Brennøerne 16 Bækhus
58 Deilden 41 Djupedal 37 Dokkeroen 22 Dysjaa 22 Dysjaavelta 50 Dølene
7 Egderud
13 Finsekre 23 Flatland 31 Fossejord 48 Fune 14 Fyrebøen
53 Gammen 36 Gjuv mellem 35 Gjuv nordre 21 Godviljaaro 15 Graakjøn 4 Gutehus 7 Gvæven
17 Haatveit nedre 13 Hagen 52 Haugeberg 47 Haugen 58 Haugen 30 Haugene 46 Hellebuen 57 Hjarsjø 12 Holm 11 Hovdejord 7 Hovland 19 Hvaale 21 Hykkjerud 58 Høgkasin
12 Jymoen
58 Kaasen 45 Kaldal 32 Karls-Opsal 58 Kjøndalen
19 Lekkjenuten 29 Listøl og Lien 21 Lofthus 58 Loner nordre 39 Luten 42 Løksli
53 Matklep 20 Midbø vestre 49 Midbøen nedre 51 Midbøen øvre 47 Myrejord 24 Mæland nordre
57 Neshaug 45 Nirisrud 13 Nordbø
33 Opsal 7 Ormaskjær
46 Præstodden
10 Risvold 38 Rui
52 Saupstølen 40 Saurviken 10 Sesjord 46 Skeie 53 Sopanstad 54 Strand, 34 Stutthus 42 Stuvøen 45 Svalestuen 53 Svarteberg med Bergslandstangen og Nirisrudlappen 8 Særsland nedre 21 Søsterbulien
3 To nedre, Tokasin og Grimarskaas 54 To østre 50 Train 55 Tveiten 55 Tveitstølen 29 Tømmeraasdokken
Ulekjøn og Kluftelidalen, 56 Uvaas
36 Vatner 32 Vatnerhegna, 1 Vellufsin 15 Vrangekjøn
29 Øverbø
Hjartdal Nordbygda parish:
Togrenda og Ambjørndalen: Ambjørndalen, Vellufsin, Dale, To øvre, Øvre-To, Nord-To, Bollås, Bustadhus, To nedre, Myljom-To, Nedre-To, Levors-To, Nedre-To
Åbøgrenda og Gutehusgardane: Nedre-Åbø, Myljom-Åbø, Åbø øvre, Nord-Åbø, Sud-Åbø, Høgetveit, Gutehus, Nedre-Gutehus, Øvre-Gutehus
Flatlandgardane: Flatland nordre, Nord-Flatland, Myljom-Flatland, Nørdre Nord-Flatland, Hauganmoen, Bakkan, Sud-Flatland, Vestmoen
Hovlandgrenda: Hovland, Nord-Hovland, Sud-Hovland, Bratsberg, Groven, Egderud, Vestre Egderud
Særslandgrenda: Særsland nedre, Nedre-Særsland, Elverhøy, Myljom-Særslalnd, Sud-Særsland, Høymyr, Haugen, Øvre-Særsland
Rogrenda: Risvoll med Århus og Sisjord, Sud-Risvoll, Nord-Risvoll, Sisjord, Århus, Sud-Århus, Myljom-Århus, Nord-Århus, Hovdejord
Livøen: Prestegarden, Øvre Prestegarden, Nedre Prestegarden, Øygarden, Haraldstad, Nordbø, Nedre Nordbø, Øvre, Nordbø, Hagen, Finnsekre, Steinsrud, Midtbøen, Kåsa, Bekkhus
Håtveitgrenda: Øvre Håtveit, Nedre Håtveit, Nord-Håtveit, Sud-Håtveit
Gvålsgrenda: Gvåle nordre, Nord-Gvåle, Gvålsbakk, Gvåle søndre, Sud-Gvåle, Mjljom-Gvåle
Lofthus: Nord-Lofthus, Sud-Lofthus, Hykkejerud, Austre Hykkjerud, Jore, Nedre Jore
Mælandgrenda og Dysjågardane: Dysjå, Nord-Dysjå, Sud-Dysjå, Mæland nordre, Hauge-Mæland, Nord-Mæland, Marken, Sud-Marken, Haugen, Mæland søndre, Mælands-Moen, Myljom-Mæland, Sud-Mæland, Sud-Moen
Bergegardane og Aslaugberg: Aslaugberg, Sud-Aslaugberg, Nord-Aslaugberg, Hytta, Nord-Berge, Berge søndre, Myljom-Berge, Sud-Berge, Bergsluten
Hjardtdal Gvammen Parish
Øverbøgrenda: Øverbø, Nord-Øverbø, Nordigard, Myljomstugu, Sud-Øverbø, Uppistugu, Sudigard, Øverbø-Haugen, Tømmeråsdokka, Kasin
Haugangrenda og Rue: Haugan, Øvre-Haugan, Gjerjordet, Nedre-Haugan, Baksjult, Rue
Oppsalgrenda: Oppsal, Nord-Oppsal, Sud-Oppsal, Butsadhus, Karls-Oppsal, Sud-Karls-Oppsal, Karls-Oppsal, Nord-Karls-Oppsal, Fjellstugu, Stutthus, Nord-Stutthus
Gjuvsgrenda: Megarden, Nord-Gjuv med Fossjordet, Fossjordet, Søndre Gjuv, Sud-Gjuv, Øvre-Gjuv, Myljom-Gjuv, Jordhuset
Åkregardane og Haugeberggardane: Åkre, Øvre-Åkre, Nedre-Åkre, Livro, Haugeberg, Nord-Haugeberg, Sud-Haugeberg
Bergslandgrenda: Bergsland, Nord-Bergsland, Øvre-Bergsland, Sud-Bergsland, Nedre-Bergsland, Hegna, Langåsdalen
Djupedalsgrenda, Haugengardane, Løksli og Åsen: Luten, Djupedal, Sud-Djupedal, Nord-Djupedal, Haugen, Sud-Haugen, Løksli, Stuvøy, Åsen
Gardane i Gvammen: Øvre Midtbøen, Midtbøen,Dalen, Myljom-Midtbøen, Nedre-Midtbøen, Kringlun, Funner, Nedre Funner, Øvre Funner, Øystulen, Skeie, Nord-Skeie, Sud-Skeie, Brennøymoen, Svålåstugu, Myrjord, Dølen, Train, Brennøyen, Nerisrud, Svarteberg
Sud-To, Strand, og gardane i Kalddalen: To, Sud-To, Strand, Tohaugen, Kalddal, Øvre Kalddal, Trettesykket, Sopanstand, Tute
Hjartsjøgardane, Uvås og Tveiten: Tveiten, Tveitstulen, Hjartsjø, Neshaug, Nord-Hjartsjø, Sud-Hjartsjø, Hjartsjølia, Nuten, Uvås, Uvås 56.9, Baklistulen, Haugen, Bergstul, Baklistulen 56.3
Nord-Lonar: Kåsa, Svarverud, Haugen, Tjønndalen, Høgkasin
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet
Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1866 Family History Library
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet
Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1747, 1753-1817 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
References[edit | edit source]
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Karlsrud Kleveland, Gjertud, Hjartdalsoga: Gard og ætt Sauland vol II. Utgitt av Hjartdal Kommune 1992
Karlsrud Kleveland, Gjertrud, Hjartdalsoga: Gard og ætt Hjartdal Nordbygda vol III A. Utgitt av Hjartdal Kommune 2000
Karlsrud Kleveland, Gjertrud, Hjartdalsoga: Gard og ætt Hjartdal Gvammen vol III B. Utgitt av Hjartdal Kommune 1998
