Hjørring County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hjørring County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Hjørring County

Guide to Hjørring ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below.

History

Hjørring County (Danish: Hjørring Amt) is a former province in Denmark, located on the northern tip of Jutland and encompassing most of the island of Vendsyssel-Thy and the island of Læsø. Hjørring County was established in 1793 and abolished in 1970 when it merged with Aalborg County forming the new North Jutland County.

The region belonged to Vendsyssel during the Middle Ages. In 1542, the north Jutland region was reorganised as Aalborghus Len. This province was divided in 1662 forming Aalborghus County and Aastrup, Sejlstrup and Børglum County.

The latter province was divided again in 1793 and the bulk of its territory was reorganised as Hjørring County. Smaller parts of the province became parts of the counties of Thisted and Aalborg. This division lasted from 1793 to 1970 when the Hjørring and Aalborg Counties merged, forming the new North Jutland County.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)

Districts

  • Børglum Herred
  • Dronninglund Herred
  • Horns Herred
  • Hvetbo Herred
  • Vennebjerg Herred
  • Øster Han Herred

Parishes

Skagen CityRåbjergTværstedUggerbyBindslevMosbjergEllingHirsholmeneHørmestedTolneLendumSkærumÅstedÅstedFladeFrederikshavn CityVesterøByrumHalsHalsAsdalHirtsalsHorneTornbyBjergbyMygdalMygdalSkt. OlaiSkt. OlaiSindalSindalSkallerupMårupRubjergJelstrupVennebjergSkt. HansHarreslevHjørring CitySkt. OlaiLyngbyFurrebyBørglumVrenstedVejbySejlstrupRakkebyHæstrupVrejlevTårsVråEmTiseStenumTolstrupSerritslevBrønderslev CityØster BrønderslevJerslevTorslev (Dronninglund herred)HørbyKarupUnderstedVolstrupSæbySkæveHellumHallundØrumHellevadVoerAlbækHjallerupDronninglundAså-MelholtIngstrupVester HjermeslevAlstrupSaltumHuneJetsmarkTranumVedstedLerupBrovstØster SvenstrupGølAggersborgBejstrupSkræmHaverslevTorslev (Øster Han herred)ØlandHjorring Map.jpg

Estates

  • Aggersborg
  • Asdal
  • Baggesvogn
  • Birkumgård
  • Boller
  • Bratskov
  • Bøgsted
  • Børglum-Vejby-Furreby mensalgods
  • Børglumkloster
  • Dronninggård
  • Dronninglund
  • Dybvad
  • Eget
  • Ellinggård
  • Fladstrand
  • Fuglsig
  • Hammelmose
  • Harreslevgård
  • Haverslev-Bejstrup præstegods
  • Havrholm
  • Hejselt
  • Hjermeslevgård
  • Høgholt
  • Hørbylund
  • Ingstrup-Hjermeslev-Alstrup præstegods
  • Kettrupgård
  • Klavsholm
  • Knivholt
  • Kokkedal
  • Kornumgård
  • Kærsgård
  • Kølskegård
  • Låge
  • Lerbæk
  • Lerup-Tranum præstegods
  • Lundergård
  • Nibstrup
  • Nørre Elkjær
  • Nørre Ravnstrup
  • Odden
  • Ormholt
  • Oxholm
  • Ravnstrup
  • Rævkærgård
  • Rønnovsholm
  • Sejlstrup
  • Skårupgård
  • Stensbæk
  • Sæbygård
  • Sæbygård og Stenshede
  • Tolstrup-Stenum præstegods
  • Viborg domkapitelsgods på Læsø
  • Villerup
  • Voergård
  • Vrejlevkloster
  • Ålegård
  • Ås
  • Åstrup

Census Records

Probate Records