To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hjørring City Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hjørring City, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.



History[edit | edit source]

Hjørring is the main town and the administrative seat of Hjørring Municipality, Region Nordjylland, In Denmark, Scandinavia. It is one of Denmark's oldest towns, and it celebrated its 750th anniversary as a market town in 1993.
Archaeological discoveries show that the area was already populated 10,000 years ago.
[1]

Hjørring City Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sejlstrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Vennebjerg
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 15
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 28
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/485
Gods (estate) Notarius publicus; Odden gods; Stensbæk gods; Sejlstrup gods; Horns Herredsret; Vennebjerg Herredsret; Byret


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Agerholm, Aldershøj

Bejt, Birkely, Bistrup, Bjørnsbæk, Blaasig Bæk, Bækbo

Dommergaard

Elmely, Engkærgaard, Eriksminde

Hedebo, Hestkærgaard, Hjørring, Hjørring Bjerge, Højvælde

Kapelhøj, Klokager, Klonhøj, Klonhøjgaard, Kristiansgave

Louisehøj

Muldbjerggaard

Rørlandsgaard

Sankt Catharinæ Kirke, Sankt Knuds Kilde, Skytteanlægget, Skyttehuset, Smidths Plantage, Svanelunden

Ulvsig

Vestermark, Vestervang

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring County: Astrup, Skt. Hans, Skt. Olai, Ugilt

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.