Hjärsås Parish, Kristianstad, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hjärsås parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kristianstad County
Hjärsås

Guide to Hjärsås Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

On April 30, 1895 a large portion of the records for Hjärsås parish were destroyed by a fire.  The Hjärsås Hembygdsförening has tried to create a reconstruction of the records using probate records. See the Related Sources section below for contact information.


Hjärsås Parish, Kristianstad, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Lund
Pastorat pre 1961 Hjärsås and Knislinge, after 1962 it's own
Län Kristianstad
Landskap Skåne
Härad pre 1883 Villand (part of the parish), pre 1883 Östra Göinge (part of the parish), post 1884 Östra Göinge
Tingslag not applicable
Domsaga 1682-1860 Östra och Västra Göinge härads, 1861-1917 Östra Göinge och Villands härads, 1918-1966 Östra Göinge, 1967- Kristianstad
Fögderi 1918 - 1946 Broby, 1946 - 1966 Osby, 1946 - 1967- Kristianstad
Kommun 1952-1973 Hjärsås, 1974- Östra Göinge
Militär indelning Skånska Dragon - Regementet: Östra Göinge Sqvadron, Östra Göinge. Norra Skånes Regemente: Lif- Kompaniet Kompani


Place Names

Angseröd, Axeltorp

Breanäs, Bronjana, Bränskulla

Dönaberga, Dönhult

Ebbarp

Fjärraboda

Gyevik

Hajstad, Hareberga, Hjärsås, Holm

Ingarp

Jedenryd

Krattekulla

Myren

Odenryd

Påarp, Påarp järnvägsstation Hylta, Påarp Skolhus

Sibbhult, Sibbhult järnvägsstation, Simastorp, Skarvik, Svenstorp

Toarp, Tubbarp, Tusseboda, Tågaröd

Villands sjättning, Vrångafälle, Värestorp

In some cases there are multiple farms under the name of one farming area. They often have a number associated to them for example, Axeltorp no. 1 – 8, or Hjärsås no. 1 – 17.

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Emmislöv, Glimåkra, Gryt, Hjärsås, Knislinge, Kviinge, Östra Broby

Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kristianstad Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kristianstad and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg Hjärsås content on the Östra Göinge Kommun Site
Karlsson Gunvald, Hjärsås Kommun - en bok om Hjärsås socken och kommun,1973, 96 pages

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

Societies and Libraries

The Hjärsås Hembygdsförening is a local society focused on the social and cultural history of Hjärsås. They have a meeting place at the Hjärsås Hembygdsgård. Here is the contact information:

Hjärsås Hembygdsgård

Knislingevägen 4

289 90 Knislinge

Sweden

Tel. 044-650 08, 0708-16 51 08


The Hjärsås Hembygdsförening also belongs to the Skåne Hembygdsförening. See their website at: http://www.skaneshembygdsforbund.se/

References

Skatteverket. "Hjärsås." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). January, 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

Riksarkivet. "Hjärsås församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January, 2011
http://www.nad.ra.se/