Hitra Parish, Sør-Trøndelag, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hitra, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hitra Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1680-1804: Trondheim 1804-1919: Søndre Trondhjem
Fylke 1919-Present Sør-Trøndelag
Region add here
Prestegjeld Hitteren
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Hitteren, Fillan
Fogderi Fosen
Sorenskriveri Fosen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hitra clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Hitra (Dolm), Kvenvær (Forsnes from 1914), Fillan with Nordbotn chapel and Sandstad. Included Frøya until 1877. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1736-1928.


Hitra (Dolm) clerical district: 1717-1945


Census Records[edit | edit source]


  • 1701 Manntall: The 1701 census for Hitra clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1794, 1825-1827: Two sjeleregisters covering 1794 and 1825-1827 exist for Fosen (Fosna) clerical district and include the parishes of Hemne, Hitra, Frøya, Ørland, Statsbygd, Åfjord, and Bjørnør and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.



  • 1835: A special 1835 census for Hitra (Dolm) clerical district, including the parishes of Hitra, Kvenvær, Fillan, Sandstad, and Frøya, exists and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.






Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

29 Asmundvaag 10 Aunet 15 Aunet med Stalsvik og Bruholmen

11 Barman 45 Berget 17 Bjørneneset 41 Burøen

20 Dolmøen 45 Dønnesviken

42 Edøen

45 Faksvaag 8 Fausland 35 Furuviken

2 Gløstad 44 Grefsnes 34 Gryten

33 Haavik 9 Haltan 32 Haltviken 5 Hammerstad 4 Hammerstaddalen 11 Haraneset 16 Heggaas med Valøen 36 Helgebostad 38 Henriksøen 28 Hestnes 26 Hjertøen 31 Hofstad 13 Honnes med Vikan og Balevaag 22 Hopen 22 Hopsjøen 45 Hulviken

25 Ingebriktsvik

18 Jægtvik

19 Kjerringvaag 1 Kjølsøen 14 Kvernhusviken

27 Langøen 23 Leikvam

22 Meland 22 Melandsjøen 22 Mortensviken 17 Morviken 18 Moseviken 11 Myren 22 Myren

17 Norddolm

43 Olderøen 3 Orøen

6 Risnes

30 Skipnes 24 Smaage 25 Smaagesjøen 32 Snæringen 32 Strøm 23 Svalegras 9 Svenes

40 Torsøen 19 Tøften 35 Tømmervik

21 Undaas

13 Vassæteren 37 Vedøen 14 Vikstrøm

12 Øien 7 Øverdal

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1681-1874: Probates may be found in Fosen judicial district.

1691-1814: Clerical probates may be found in Fosen Deanery.

Probate index for Hitra, 1681-1836.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names