Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (HGRC)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to New Mexico go to Archives and Libraries go to Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (HGRC)

Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (HGRC)

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  hgrc@hgrc-nm.org

Address:[2]

4000 St. Joseph Place
Lourdes Hall R108
Albuquerque, NM 87120

Telephone:[1]  505-833-4197; (Out of town) 855-833-4197

Hours and holidays:[2] Telephone 505-833-4197 for office hours.

Map, directions, and public transportation:

  • Directions[3]
    • From North of Albuquerque on I-25 (Pan-American Hwy): Merge onto I-25 S/US-85 South toward Albuquerque. Take the I-40 W/I-40 E exit, EXIT 226A-B, toward Gallup/Santa Rosa, 0.2 mi. Merge onto I-40 W/Coronado Fwy W via EXIT 226B toward Gallup, 4.0 mi. Take the Coors Rd exit, EXIT 155, toward Rio Rancho, 0.2 mi. Keep left to take the COORS RD S ramp, 0.2 mi. Merge onto NM-448/Coors Blvd NW, 1.2 mi. Turn right onto Saint Josephs Dr NW (Portions unpaved), 0.3 mi. Saint Josephs Dr NW becomes Saint Josephs Pl NW, 0.01 mi. 4000 SAINT JOSEPHS PL NW is on the left.
    • From East of Albuquerque on I-40 (Coronado Fwy): Merge onto I-40 Westbound. Take the Coors Rd exit, EXIT 155, toward Rio Rancho, 0.2 mi. Keep left to take the COORS RD S ramp, 0.2 mi. Merge onto NM-448/Coors Blvd NW, 1.2 mi. Turn right onto Saint Josephs Dr NW (Portions unpaved), 0.3 mi. Saint Josephs Dr NW becomes Saint Josephs Pl NW, 0.01 mi. 4000 SAINT JOSEPHS PL NW is on the left.
    • From South of Albuquerque on I-25 (Pan-American Hwy): Merge onto I-25 N/US-85 North toward Albuquerque. Take the I-40 W/I-40 E exit, EXIT 26B-A, toward Gallup/Santa Rosa, 0.3 mi. Merge onto I-40 W/Coronado Fwy W via EXIT 226B on the left toward Gallup, 4.1 mi. Take the Coors Rd exit, EXIT 155, toward Rio Rancho, 0.2 mi. Keep left to take the COORS RD S ramp, 0.2 mi. Merge onto NM-448/Coors Blvd NW, 1.2 mi. Turn right onto Saint Josephs Dr NW (Portions unpaved), 0.3 mi. Saint Josephs Dr NW becomes Saint Josephs Pl NW, 0.01 mi. 4000 SAINT JOSEPHS PL NW is on the left.
    • From West of Albuquerque on I-40 (Hwy 66): Merge onto I-40 Eastbound. Take the Coors Blvd exit, EXIT 155, 0.1 mi. Merge onto Coors Blvd NW/NM-448 via the ramp on the left toward Rio Rancho/CORRALES, 1.7 mi. Turn right onto Saint Josephs Dr NW (Portions unpaved), 0.3 mi. Saint Josephs Dr NW becomes Saint Josephs Pl NW, 0.01 mi. 4000 SAINT JOSEPHS PL NW is on the left.
  • Public transportation[4]  ABQ RIDE bus routes 790 Blue, and 155 each have stops on Coors Blvd. NW near St. Josephs Dr. NW about three blocks (0.4 mi.) from the Catholic Center and the HGRC.

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

The Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (HGRC) of New Mexico maintains the online Great New Mexico Pedigree Database (GNMPD). Their collection at the Archdiocese of Santa Fe Catholic Center in Albuquerque emphasizes early New Mexico sources such as Diligencias Matrimoñales by Fray Angélico Chávez. In addition, HGRC has the Diligencias Matrimoñales from Durango (Mexico), microfilms of the Santa Fe Archdiocese records, and Gallup Diocese records, and a variety of census records. They have all the books published by the New Mexico Genealogical Society.[2] They publish a monthly newsletter Noticias, a Quarterly Journal Herencia, and make genealogical, historical, and reference sources available to the public.[1]

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (HGRC), a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.
  • New Mexico State Records Center and Archives, Santa Fe, Roman Catholic church records, censuses, district court, land grants, wills, diaries, family papers, prisons, family and local histories, newspapers. NM's best genealogy repository because of its original territorial, state, and county records.[5]
  • New Mexico State Library, Santa Fe, history, biography, ethnic studies, newspapers, government documents, maps, periodicals, and genealogies. Largest book collection in New Mexico.[5]

Similar Collections

  • UNM Center for Southwest Research, Albuquerque, Includes manuscripts of Southwestern U.S. families, organizations, and businesses, 40,000 books and periodicals, and 120,000 images since the 1850s.[6]
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center, Albuquerque, photographs, maps, manuscripts, and genealogies.[7] The library contains 12,500 book titles about the history and culture of the Hispano world from the U.S. Southwest, Mexico, Central America, Latin America to Spain, and Portugal.[8]
  • Archdiocese of Santa Fe Archives, Santa Fe NM, created in 1850, it once also included Arizona, and Colorado. [9]  The Archives houses records from 1678-1950 for dozens of parishes in three states.
  • Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 3.1 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, Mormon records.

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 HGRC Home in Hispanic Genealogical Research Center (accessed 28 January 2015).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Locating Catholic Church Records in New Mexico and Southern Colorado in New Mexico Genealogical Society (accessed 28 January 2015).
  3. Based on MapQuest directions.
  4. ABQ RIDE System Map in ABQ Ride (accessed 28 Jan 2015).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 79. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  6. CSWR Collection Strengths in University of New Mexico University Libraries (accessed 17 Jan 2015).
  7. Archives in National Hispanic Cultural Center (accessed 20 January 2015).
  8. Research Library in National Hispanic Cultural Center (accessed 20 January 2015).
  9. About the Archdiocese of Santa Fe in Archdiocese of Santa Fe (accessed 20 January 2014).
  10. Overview - Special Collections in Albuquerque Bernalillo County Library (accessed 20 January 2014).