To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hinton in the Hedges with Steane, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hinton in the Hedges with Steane, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hinton in the Hedges with Steane, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred King's-Sutton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brackley
Registration District Brackley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Steane beginning 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brackley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HINTON-IN-THE-HEDGES (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Brackley, hundred of King'sSutton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 1½ mile (W.) from Brackley.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hinton in the Hedges with Steane, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
HINTON IN THE HEDGES WITH STEANE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1887 1813-1887
BOYD
1559-1754

FREG 1558-1783 1558-1754 1558-1785
PRTS
1558-1754

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.