To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hinds County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hinds County, Mississippi)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hinds County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jackson, Raymond
Organized: 12 February 1821
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Claiborne  • Copiah  • Madison  • Rankin  • Simpson  • Warren  • Yazoo
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiHindsCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Hinds County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for Thomas Hinds. Hinds County is located in the west-central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hinds County Courthouse
P.O. Box 686
Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601-968-6237
Hinds County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1823 and court records from 1930.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records.[3]

Hinds County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1823 1 Nov 1912 1854 1870 1823 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1821 Hinds County was created 12 February 1821 from the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Jackson, Raymond[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hinds County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Hinds County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Jackson

Episcopal
St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond

  • 1867-1885 - St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond, Baptism Index 1867-1885. Batch C714191 at FamilySearch
  • 1867-1895 - St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond, Marriage Index 1867-1895. Batch M714191 at FamilySearch

St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Bolton

  • 1869-1885 - St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Bolton, Baptism Index 1869-1885. Batch C714181 at FamilySearch

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
An Index to Hinds County Mississippi, Freedmen's Bureau Labor Contracts by Mabel Green Crushshon. 90 pages FHL book: 976.251 F22c

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hinds County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Madison CountyRankin CountySimpson CountyCopiah CountyClaiborne CountyYazoo CountyWarren CountyMS HINDS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Hinds County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hinds County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Percy's) (Army of 10,000)
Company D - (Brownsville Terribles)
Company H - (Raymond Minute Men)
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company D - Mississippi Rifles (also listed as Co. G)
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company A - Ridley’s Battery, aka Jackson Light Artillery
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry (became the 48th Regiment, Missippi Infantry)
Company - Jackson Boys (attached to the 26th Virginia Infantry)
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Raymond Minute Men
Company K [sic] - Capt. Charlton’s Independent Company
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry)
Company A - Jackson Boys (attached to the 26th Virginia Infantry)
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Downing Rifles
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Raymond Fencibles (also listed as Co. A)

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Hinds County

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Hinds County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hinds County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hinds, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hinds_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hinds County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hinds County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hinds_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 17 September 2019.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, http://www.nps.gov/hps/abpp/battles/ms009.htm Civil War Battle Summaries by State], (accessed 2 August 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).