Hinckley, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Hinckley, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary Hinckley, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Registration District||Hinckley; Market Bosworth|
|Parish registers: 1554|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1570|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HINCKLEY (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Sparkenhoe, county of Leicester, but partly in the S. division of the hundred of Knightlow and of the county of Warwick; comprising the chapelries of Dadlington and Stoke-Golding, and the hamlet of Wykin. There are places of worship for General Baptists, Independents,Wesleyans, and Unitarians. 
In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Hinckley like this:
Hinckley, market town, par., and township, with ry. sta. partly in Warwickshire. but chiefly in S. Leicestershire, 14½ miles SW. of Leicester.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Hinckley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)|
|TGEN = Leicestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)|
|PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Hinckley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Hinckley St Mary Bap 1554 - 1939 Marr 1554 – 1991 (Banns to1990) Bur 1554 - 1905
Hinckley St Paul Bap 1911 - 1939 This building was used for worship until its demolition in about 1994, the proposed permanent church never having been built. Private housing now occupies the site.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 514-518. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
- Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.