To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hillingdon East, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hillingdon East, Middlesex)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hillingdon East, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HILLINGDON, a village', aparish', and asub-district, in Uxbridge district, Middlesex. The village stands near the Uxbridge railway, the Grand Junction canal, the river Colne, was known, at Domesday, as Hillendone;and has a post office under Uxbridge, and a police station.—Theparis'h contains also the town and township of Uxbridge, the villages of Yiewsley and Colham, and the hamlet's of Gould-Green, Peel-Hatch, Colham Green.[1]

Hillingdon East, created in 1894, was a district church lying in the civil parish of Hillingdon.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hillingdon on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 Januaary 2014.