Hilfield, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Hilfield

Guide to Hilfield, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hilfield, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cerne, Totcombe and Modbury
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Cerne
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

HILFIELD, or HILLFIELD, a parochial chapelry in Dorchester district, Dorset; 3 miles ENE of Evershot railway station, and 3½ NW by N of Cerne-Abbas.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hilfield, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1780
1780
1780
Images
1780-1789 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1850-1906 Ancestry[3] 1840-1919 Ancestry[4] 1850-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1852-1880 Ancestry[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 07 July 2103. fckLR
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.