High Worsall, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from High Worsall, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
North Riding of Yorkshire
High Worsall

Guide to High Worsall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

High Worsall, Yorkshire
Ruined church of High Worsall Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1720
Bishop's Transcripts: 1729
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter in Allerton and Allertonshire
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

High Worsall chapelry near Northallerton was in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and chapter of Durham. it was created as a chapelry in 1729 within  Northallerton, Yorkshire parish, an ancient parish.

WORSALL, HIGH, a chapelry, in the parish of Northallerton, union of Stockton, wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Yarm; containing 143 inhabitants.

WORSALL, LOW, a township, in the parish of Kirk-Leavington, union of Stockton, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. W.) from Yarm; containing 146 inhabitants. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described High Worsall like this:

WORSALL (High), a chapelry in Northallerton parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on the river Tees, 3 miles SW of Yarm r. station. Post town, Yarm. Acres, 1,511. Real property, £1,193. Pop., 109. Houses, 23. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of York. Value, £80. Patron, the Vicar of Northallerton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

High Worsall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
High Worsall Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 687-692. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk