High Laver, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Essex Parishes
High Laver

Guide to High Laver, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints High Laver Church Essex.JPG

Parish History

High Laver or Laver (High), is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; 4 miles NW of Ongar, and 4 1/2 miles SE of Harlow railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

High Laver, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
High Laver, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

Vestry minute-books for High Laver survive for 1657-1804 and 1863- 1943. [4]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


High Laver on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. From: 'High Laver: Parish government and poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 95-96. British History Date accessed: 06 February 2011.
Essex Parishes
High Easter