Hidra (Hitterø) Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Vest-Agder County
Hidra

Guide to Hidra, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hidra (Hitterø) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Flekkefjord clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Nes with Flekkefjord city and Hidra (Hitterø) in Flekkefjord clerical district. Nes and Flekkefjord were separated from Lund clerical district in Rogaland county and Hidra from Sokndal clerical district in Rogaland county in 1820.

See Flekkefjord clerical district and Sokndal clerical district.

At Digitalarkivet:

Nes / Hidra: 1750-1832

Hidra: 1831-1889, 1908-1927

Flekkefjord / Hidra: 1870-1907

Sokndal: 1729-1806

Census Records

  • 1664-1666: Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Original This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
  • 1664-1666: Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 original This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
  • 1865: Folketælling 31 December 1865 Flekkefjord Clerical District original This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
  • 1865: Folketellinga 1865 for [nr. 1004 Flekkefjord] An extraction of the 1865 census for Flekkefjord, Vest-Agder, Norway. It includes an extract of the entries as they appear in the original census and alphabetical indexes by: 1> given names; 2> surnames; 3> birthplaces; and 4> farm names.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
1 Aagenes, 16 Aamland, 32 Abelnes, 59 Agerhus, 48 Allestad, 7 Auland

32 Bjørnøen lille, 32 Bolshus, 39 Botne lille, 50 Botne paa Heien, 31 Bukstad, 38 Bækkedal

52 Daastøl, 43 Daatland

19 Eide

12 Festevold, 45 Fidsel

32 Gangstø [ ], 49 Gumpefjeld

36 Haaland, 37 Haaland lille, 56 Haaskog, 34 Haugeland, 27 Hitterøkalven, 51 Hogstad, 58 Holmen, 55 Hommen, 26 Hummeraas, 2 Hummeraasøen og Skibøen, 23 Hæstad

35 Itland

15 Kaade, 4 Kjellingnes, 14 Kjøide, 42 Kleppe indre, 14 Kongshavn, 8 Kraageda,l 46 Kvanvig, 33 Kvelland

28 Langeland, 29 Langelandstranden, 40 Li

20 Marstad, 59 Midbø, 60 Mosebakken, 44 Mønstermyr

54 Polland, 54 Pytten

17 Reistad

3 Sele, 19 Skaret, 58 Skarpenes, 47 Stemmen, 53 Stø, 30 Støitland

5 Ulland ytre, 21 Urstad nedre

2 Vaage, 14 Vaagen, 13 Vallaas, 57 Vatland, 25 Veisdal ytre, 18 Vimrevaag

60 Ystebø, 9 Ysthus

Probate Records

Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library

Lister judicial district
*1666-1829 Digitalarkivet

Flekkefjord judical district
*1810-1887 Family History Library
*1810-1907 Digitalarkivet

Lista deanery
*1804-1834 Family History Library
*1804-1834 Digitalarkivet

Note: Probates may also be found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district in Rogaland County. Hidra was separated from Sokndal clerical district in 1820.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names