Heworth, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Heworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Gateshead|
|Parish registers: 1696|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1768|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HEWORTH, NETHER, a chapelry, in the parish of Jarrow, union of Gateshead, E division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham, 2¼ miles ESE from Gateshead. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexion, and Primitive Methodists.
St Mary's Church Heworth was an ancient chapelry in the parish of Jarrow. The earliest chapelry on the site can be dated circa 685 A.D. from the coins found in 1812 and believed to have been laid under the foundation stone of that chapel, built in the reign of King Ecgfrid who died in that year. A reference in 1214 to the chapel and other references prior to rebuilding in 1684. Subsequent enlargement took place in 1711 and the present church was built in 1822.
In 1834 Heworth St Alban was created as a parish from within the parish boundaries.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Heworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Heworth Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Methodist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Heworth on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.