Heston, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
Heston

Guide to Heston, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heston, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isleworth
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

'HESTON St. Leonard, a parish, in the union of Brentford, hundred of Isleworth, County of Middlesex. This parish included the following chapels within its boundaries as well:

  • Hounslow Holy Trinity Chapel - 1547
  • All Saints, Broad Walk -
  • Heston Barracks Chapel - 1853'[1]

The Victoria County History of Heston and Isleworth (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, estates, markets and fairs, mills, economic and social history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, other denominations, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Heston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Heston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Heston St Leonard Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (50+ entries)

Manorial Records

Records survive for two manors in Heston Parish: Heston Manor (1395-1911) and Hounslow Manor (1451-1681). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Heston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Herringfleet - Heston," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 491-497. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 27 April 2010).
  2. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington (1962), pp. 85-139. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=85 Date accessed: 27 March 2012.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk