To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hessenford, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hessenford, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hessenford, Cornwall
The Parish Church of Saint Anne, Hessenford. Cornwall.jpg
The Parish Church of Saint Anne, Hessenford. Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HESSENFORD, a village and a chapelry in St. Germans parish, Cornwall. The village stands in a deep wooded bottom, on the river Seaton, 3 miles W of St. Germans r. station.[1]

Hessenford (Cornish: Rys an Gwraghes) St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1834 from St Germans, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

The church was built by local subscription with labour, material and financial contributions and was dedicated on the 26th September 1833, at that it time was a district chapel of Saint Germans parish, the perpetual curate being appointed by the vicar of Saint Germans however, Hessenford became a parish in its own right by "Order in Council" in 1852. The lych gates were a gift and built in 1905, the original gates being used for the entrance to the church yard.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hessenford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hessenford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hessenford in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk