To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hesby Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hesby, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hesby Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Finnø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Finnø
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hesby kyrkje.jpg

Finnøy clerical district church records begin in 1672. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Finnøy (Hesby) and Talgøy in Finnøy clerical district. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

An extract of the church records of Finnøy in Rogaland county, 1672- 1846.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Finnøy: 1673-1982

Finnøy / Finnøy (Hesby): 1672-1982

Finnøy / Hesby: 1916-1982

Finnøy / Hesby, Talgje: 1672-1982

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Finnøy clerical district includes Finnøy (Hesby), Talgøy (Talgje), and Hesby parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Findøe Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Finnø Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

1875-teljinga for Finnø Database

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Finnø Database

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records for the years 1666-1795 are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial districts in Rogaland county.

For 1786-1876 the records are in the Ryfylke judicial district.

The clerical probates are found in Ryfylke deanery in Rogaland county, Norway. They are for the years 1786-1807.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Bjørkvik, Halvard and Næss, Hans Eyvind, "Finnøy: gard og ætt", Finnøy]: Finnøy kommune, c1993- Contents: b. 1. Gardane på sørdelen av Finnøy -- b. 2. Gardane på nord delen av Finnøy -- b. 3. Gardene på Fogn, Talgje og Fisterøyane -- b. 4. Sjernarøy 1: gardar på Ombo, Hidle, Bjergøy, Aubø og Kyrkjøy / Hans Eyvind Næss -- b. 5. Sjernarøy 2: gardar på Kyrkjøy, Tjul, Talgje, Helgøy og Ombo / Hans Eyvind Næss - 948.31/F1 D2b 5 vols plus index. FHL INTL Book

Of special interest is the history and genealogy of the Toreson family of Sør-Talgje in Rogaland, Norway. Includes histories and genealogies of related families on other farms in Rogaland county, ca. 900 to ca. 1600.

Engen, Sigleif, "Lagmannsætta: gard Toreson ætta frå Sør-Talgje i Rogaland", [Stavanger] : S. Engen, 1984 948.31/F2 D2e v. 2 pt. 1 supp. FHL INTL Book

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

4 Beidet, 5 Berge, 31 Bø,

27 Faa, 27 Faaberget, 13 Flesje,

28 Guldhaug,

26 Haga, 22 Haredalen, 25 Hausken, 15 Hesby,

26 Judeberg,

6 Kingestad, 2 Kvamme,

7 Ladstein indre, 19 Lande nedre, 29 Langeland, 24 Lausnes,

20 Mjølsnes nedre,

1 Naaden, 17 Nordbø, 3 Nærland,

30 Opsal,

14 Præstegaarden,

4 Relstad, 22 Rode,

35 Selvaag, 23 Spanne, 12 Steinnes, 32 Sæbø, 10 Sæveim,

34 Trevland,

33 Varland, 16 Vestbø, 28 Vigen, 11 Vignes nordre

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names