Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Hertford County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Hertford County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||December 12, 1754|
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Local Histories
- 4.7 Maps
- 4.8 Migration
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 4.14 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Hertford County Courthouse
King Street P O Box 36
Winton, NC 27986
Courthouse burned 1832 and 1862
Register of Deeds has birth and death records and burial records from 1913
marriage records from 1884 and land records from 1866
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1883
and probate records rec from 1869 
Register of Deeds
119 Justice Dr., Suite 9
Winton, NC 27986
Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 86
Winton, NC 27986
Phone: (252) 358-7100
1759 Hertford County named in honor of the Marquis of Hertford, Francis Seymour Conway, was officially formed from Bertie, Chowan and Northampton Counties by an act of legislature effective May 1, 1760.
The first official court proceedings in the area were held at Cotton's Ferry. In 1766 Assembly Representative Benjamin Wynn donated fifty acres for a town to be properly established and it was briefly called "Wynntown". Shortly following the 1766 incorporation of the town "Winton" became the county seat of government as it proudly remains today.
In 1779 the northeastern part of Hertford County was combined with parts of Chowan County and Perquimans County to form Gates County.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1822, 1830--Courthouse fires destroyed the majority of the county's records.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Mr. Arthur Cotten's. Established by 1782.
- Old Meherrin, Murfreesboro, N.C. Established 1735.
- Buckhorn Baptist, Como, N.C. Established 1835. 
Church of England
- St. John's Chapel. Established by 1782.
The first court was held at Cotton's Ferry.
- The colonial and state political history of Hertford County, N.C (1906) - by Benjamin Brodie Winborne; freely available at OpenLibrary
Early migration routes to and from Hertford County for European settlers included:
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company D
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- - 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company C
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company D
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company E
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1830 - 1963 - Will Books A to G (1830-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1868 - 1872 - Hertford Marriages 1868-1872 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1868 - 1963 - Hertford County Marriage Index 1868-1963. Batch M752555 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1911-2006 - 1911-2006 Chowan College
- Hertford County students at NC colleges - via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Hertford County Public library genealogy Room
PO Box 68
Winton NC 27986
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Hertford County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Hertford County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives - many additional records for Hertford
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hertford County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:478, 488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Minutes 1835-1963. Buckhorn Baptist Church (Murfreesboro, NC); FHL microfilm #314012
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.