To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Herefordshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Herefordshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Herefordshire.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Herefordshire Background
Local Research Resources
Herefordshire England


Guide to Herefordshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information[edit | edit source]

Herefordshire, or Hereford, is an inland county contiguous to Wales in England. In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Herefordshire like this:

"Herefordshire, an inland co. on the SE. border of Wales, and bounded N. by Shropshire and Worcestershire, E. by Worcestershire and Gloucestershire, S. by Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire, and W. by Monmouthshire, Radnorshire, and Brecknockshire; greatest length N. and S. 38 miles, greatest breadth E. and W. 35 miles; 532,918 ac., pop. 121,062. The co. is almost circular in form, and its surface shows a series of quiet and beautiful undulations. It is watered by the Wye, Lugg, Monnow, Arrow, and Frome, also the Teme. . . ."

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Herefordshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Herefordshire.

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

List of Herefordshire Civil Registration Districts

Websites[edit | edit source]