To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Herøy Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Herøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Herøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Herø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Herø
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Søndre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Herøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Herøy and Leikanger. Included parishes Sande and Rovde until 1869. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1731-1932.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Herøy: 1731-1825

Herøy / Herøy: 1816-1944

Herøy / Leikanger: 1873-1920

Herøy / Rovde: 1816-1861, 1863-1883

Herøy / Sande: 1816-1884

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Herøy clerical district includes the parishes of Herøy, Rovde, Hareid, Ulstein, Sande and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Herøy includes the parishes of Herøy, Leikanger, Sande, Rovde and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Manntall 1701 The 1701 census for Herøy clerical district includes the parishes of Herøy, Rovde, Vanylven and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Herøy clerical district includes the parishes of Herøy, Leikanger, Sande, Rovde and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Herøy clerical district includes the parishes of Herøy and Leikanger and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Rabben, Bjarne,Herøyboka : gardar og folk, Herøy : Herøy sogelag, 1962-1963. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Herøy in Møre og Romsdal county with some history. FHL 948.35/H2 D2r Farm name indexes to volumes 1 - 3 are found in the following links. File:948.35-H2 D2r V1 - HERØYBOKA v1.pdf, File:948.35-H2 D2r V2 - HEROYBOKA v2.pdf, File:948.35-H2 D2r v3 - HEROYBOK V3.pdf


Rabben, Bjarne, Herøyboka : gardar og folk, Volda : Herøy sogelag, 1981-. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Herøy in Møre og Romsdal County, Norway with some history. FHL 948.35/H2 D2r 1981 A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.35-H2 D2r V2 1981 - 2HEROYBO 198.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh farm name index in about 1900 were as follows:

16 Arhaugen 48 Aurvaag 50 Aurvaaglid

52 Bentholmen 29 Berge nedre 30 Bergshaugen 29 Bergsneset 43 Blankholmen 16 Bø indre 15 Bø ytre 16 Bøvaagen

44 Djupvik 44 Djupvikstranden 45 Dragesund 60 Dyrehaugbakken

38 Eggesbøen 22 Espeset 50 Espeviken

64 Flaavær 27 Flusund 27 Flusundbakken 33 Fosnevaag nedre 20 Frøistad 21 Frøistadvaag 39 Fugleholmen

10 Goksøren

60 Hanspladsen 39 Herø 44 Hestholmen 31 Hjelmeset 23 Hjertnes 12 Holen

35 Igesund

42 Jensholmen

44 Kjelsund 40 Klombreholmen 54 Klungsør 44 Kobbeneset 3 Kopperstad 5 Kraakøen 49 Krigsholmen 24 Krøkjen 10 Kvalneset 4 Kvalsund 8 Kvalsvik nedre

60 Langholmen 25 Leine indre 50 Leirviken 55 Lilleneset 56 Lilleøen 63 Løset 60

Moldtu 60 Moldtudalen 32 Monsholmen 37 Myklebost 37 Myklebosthaug 60 Myren 46 Myrvaag 47 Myrvaagnes

44 Nakken 40 Nautøen 6 Nerland 24 Nærøen

55 Ormenes

41 Petersholmen 57 Pilevik

60 Rabben 58 Raftenes 58 Raftenesvik 56 Rafteset 28 Reite 12 Remøen 9 Runde 59 Rysseviken 19 Røiren

14 Sande 59 Sandviken 19 Sivertstøl 21 Skinneset 1 Skorpen 2 Skorpesund 61 Slettebakke 40 Smedholmen 18 Steinsvik 57 Stoksund 55 Storeneset 51 Storøen 17 Stranden 26 Stranden 20 Stølen 60 Stølen 11 Sævik

62 Tarberg 5 Teige 53 Tjærvaag 17 Torvik 53 Tøftene

44 Vaagen 33 Vaagsholmen 36 Vike 13 Voldsund 29 Værket

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1799-99: Probates are found in Søre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names