Henllan Amgoed, Carmarthenshire, Wales Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Henllan Amgoed, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
HÊNLLAN-AMGOED (HÊN-LLAN-AMGOED) a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (W.N.W.) from St. Clear's, on the old road from Llanboidy to Narberth containing the chapelry of Eglwys Vair a Chyrig. This parish, which is situated on the river Tâf, is more than three miles in length, and two in breadth, and is for the most part inclosed and cultivated. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians. The Rev. Nathaniel Rowlands, son of the celebrated Daniel Rowlands, of Llangeitho, was buried at this place; he was chaplain to the Duke of Gordon, and to Lady Huntingdon, and was one of the most popular preachers of his time. There is a place of worship for Independents, from which five other places of worship in the neighbourhood have originated.
For more information on Henllan see Henllan at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Henllan Amgoed at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.