To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Henderson County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hendersonville
Organized: December 15, 1838
Parent County(s): Buncombe [1]
Neighboring Counties
Buncombe  • Greenville (SC)  • Haywood  • Polk  • Rutherford  • Transylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaHendersonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-henderson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Henderson County is located in the southwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for Leonard Henderson, chief justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court from 1829-1833.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Henderson County Courthouse
200 N Grove Street, Suite 163
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Phone: 828-694-4100
Henderson County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914, marriage records from 1800 and records from 1837.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1841.[3]

Henderson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1800 1914 1841 1837 1841 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1838 Henderson County was created 15 December 1838 from Buncombe County.
  • County seat: Hendersonville[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Henderson County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Henderson County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • French Broad, near Mills River, N.C. Organized before 1792.[6] Previously located in Buncombe.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Henderson County

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Henderson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Henderson County:

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Henderson County Public Library
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society Inc.
    400 North Main Street
    Hendersonville, NC 28792
    Phone: 828-693-1531
    Email: hcghs@bellsouth.net
    Website
  • Old Buncombe County Genealogical Society
    128 Bingham Road, Suite 950
    Asheville, NC 28806
    Phone: 828-253-1894
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Henderson County, NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb project
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/henderson
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. "French Broad Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.