Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Henderson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Henderson County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||December 15, 1838|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 County Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Education
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Henderson County is located in the Southwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for Leonard Henderson, chief justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court from 1829-1833.
Henderson County Courthouse
200 N Grove St Suite 129
Henderson, NC 28792-5053
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914,
marriage record from 1800 and rec from 1837
Clerkk superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1841
Register of Deeds
200 N. Grove Street, Ste. 129
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Clerk Superior Court
200 N Grove St Ste 163
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Phone: (828) 694-4100
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
For tips on accessing Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- French Broad, near Mills River, N.C. Organized before 1792. Previously located in Buncombe County.
- Twenty-fourth annual report of the public schools of Henderson, North Carolina, 1922-1923 - via the Internet Archive
- Henderson County students at NC colleges - a name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in the county
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- - 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- - 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- - 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1838 - 1923 - Will Books 1 to 5 (1838-1923) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free
- 1841 - 1886 - Images of Wills and Estates  North Carolina Pioneers ($).
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1840 - 1900 - Henderson County Bastardy Bonds 1840-1900 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1906 - 1929 - Henderson County Marriage Index 1906-1929. Batch B868464 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1842 - 1900 - Henderson County Divorce Records 1842-1900 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 2616
Buncombe County, North Carolina
128 Bingham Road, Suite 950
Asheville, North Caroling 28806
Telephone Number: 828-253-1894
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Henderson County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Henderson County, NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "French Broad Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.