To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Henderson County, Kentucky)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Henderson County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Henderson
Organized: December 21, 1798
Parent County(s): Christian[1]
Neighboring Counties
Daviess  • McLean  • Posey (IN)  • Union  • Vanderburgh (IN)  • Warrick (IN)  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Henderson County Courthouse, Henderson, KY
Location Map
Henderson County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Richard Henderson. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Henderson County Courthouse
232 1st St
PO Box 374
Henderson, KY 42420-3146
Phone: 270-827-5671[3]
Henderson County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1911-1949.[4]

Henderson County, Kentucky Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911 1806 1911 1816 1797 1800 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1798--Henderson County was created 21 December 1798 from Christian County.
  • County seat: Henderson[6]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Baskett
  • Beals
  • Bluff City
  • Cairo
  • Carlinburg
  • Coraville
  • Dixie
  • Euterpe
  • Finley Addition
  • Geneva
  • Graham Hill
  • Hebbardsville
  • Jonesburg
  • Niagara
  • Rankin
  • Reed
Census-designated places
  • Poole (partially in Webster County)
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Henderson, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Henderson county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 1,468
1810 4,703 220.4%
1820 5,714 21.5%
1830 6,659 16.5%
1840 9,548 43.4%
1850 12,171 27.5%
1860 14,262 17.2%
1870 18,457 29.4%
1880 24,515 32.8%
1890 29,536 20.5%
1900 32,907 11.4%
1910 29,352 −10.8%
1920 27,609 −5.9%
1930 26,295 −4.8%
1940 27,020 2.8%
1950 30,715 13.7%
1960 33,519 9.1%
1970 36,031 7.5%
1980 40,849 13.4%
1990 43,044 5.4%
2000 44,829 4.1%
2010 46,250 3.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp
  • [Bethell] Bethell, John Pinckney. Some Descendants of James Bethell, Who Came from England to Jamestown, Virginia in 1625 ... and of Union Bethell, 1826-1907, of Newburg, Indiana to Henderson County, Kentucky. Des Arc, Ark.: Bethell, 1975. FHL Film 928178 Item 13
  • [Crowley] Crowley, Ariel L. Benjamin Harrison Crowley of Henderson, Kentucky, an Account of His Maternal Ancestry. Typescript. 1969. FHL Book 929.273 C886cr; Supplement: FHL Book 929.273 C886cr supp.
  • [Hart] Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Jones] Jones, Otey Sherman. The History of the Jones Family of Henderson, Kentucky. St. Louis, Mo.: O.S. Jones, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 J71jos
  • [Tippin] Tippin, James Jackson. English Tipping Ancestry of Sanford Lathadeus Tippin Family of Henderson Co., Kentucky (U.S.A.). Typescript. 1900 (?). FHL Fiche 6018262
  • [Tippin] Tippin, James Jackson. Ancestry of Sanford Lathadeus Tippin Family of Henderson County, Kentucky. Shreveport, La.: J.J. Tippin, 1940. FHL Film 1405352

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Posey CountyVanderburgh CountyWarrick CountySpencer CountyUnion CountyWebster CountyMcLean CountyDaviess CountyKY HENDERSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Henderson County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:
Confederate soldiers

- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company L.
- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Diamond's) (Confederate), Company L.
- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Johnson's) (Confederate), Company L.

Union soldiers

-8th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies B, E, H and L.
-35th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company K

World War I[edit | edit source]

Korean War[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Henderson County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Henderson County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Henderson County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henderson_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, Kentucky page 271, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Henderson County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henderson_County%2C_Kentucky, accessed 20 August 2018.
  9. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.