Heigham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Heigham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Norwich|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HEIGHAM, or Higham, a parish Norwich district, Norfolk; in the W side of Norwich city. 
Heigham St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Only the tower remains after substantial damage by German bombing in 1942. Heigham lies just outside the city walls of Norwich and along with other medieval church of Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk and subsequent bombing victims in the city.
The parish is large and subsequent church building of Heigham St Philip, Norfolk Heigham St Thomas, Norfolk Heigham Most Holy Trinity, Norfolk Heigham St Barnabas, Norfolk were designed to meet the needs of the population of the city within the Ancient parish boundaries.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Heigham Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Norfolk|
|FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts-Norfolk|
|FamilySearch Archdeacon's Transcripts-Norfolk|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Norfolk ($)|
|Find My Past Bishop's Transcript-Norfolk ($)|
|Ancestry Church of England-Norfolk (Early) ($)|
|Ancestry Church of England-Norfolk (Late) ($)|
|Ancestry Church of England-Norfolk (Transcriptions) ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Norfolk ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Norfolk ($)
- Norfolk Transcription Archive
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- 1613-1901 England, Norfolk Non-conformist Records, 1613-1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Parker, A.J. The Persistence of an Uncommon Christian Name. History and Family tree of John Parker, Billinghay, Lincs. with the first name Hepzibah showing up many times on the tree. Also surnames Parker, Eastwood, Sharman, Anthony, Bartis, Charlwood, Grigson, and Wilson.Tree dated from 1794-1902, with movements of the family from Billinghay, Frampton, Lincs, Wisbech, Cambridgshire, Walsoken, NFK, St. Peter Mancroft, with a branch going to Melbourne, Australia. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, Old Series vol.1, pt. 10, pages 132-133, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j, vol. 1. pt. 10.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Norfolk Poor Law Unions
- Norwich Poor Law Union
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Heigham on GenUKI
- Air-raids George Plunkett Historical Photography
- Photos of Heigham
- History of Heigham
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)