Heiden Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland Genealogy
Guide to Heiden Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Geography[edit | edit source]
Heiden is located in the former district of Vorderland on the Kurzenberg. It has an area of 7.5 square kilometers (2.9 square miles). This area is used thusly:
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, including Heiden.
History[edit | edit source]
Heiden was first mentioned in 1461 as guot genant Haiden. It belonged to the political parish of Kurzenberg along with Wolfhalden and Lutzenberg until 1650, when a disagreement between Wolfhalden and Heiden led to the establishment of both towns as independent parishes.
In 1667, the population was 1,248; by 1813, the population had increased to 1,776. In 1818, after a few years of pest, the population had dropped to 1,630, but steadily increased to 2,466 in 1850 and 3,745 in 1900.
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Locations within Heiden[edit | edit source]
Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]
Click here for a map showing Heiden in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell Ausserrhoden.
Collections[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The parish records for Heiden are now available online from the Appenzell Ausserrhoden State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
The church parish of Heiden was established in 1652 from the parishes of Grub and Rheineck after a disagreement with Wolfhalden over the location of a new parish resulted in the creation of separate congregations. Prior to 1652, Heiden belonged to the political parish of Kurzenberg, to which Wolfhalden and Lutzenberg also belonged. Records held at the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) and marriages (Heiraten) 1652-1875, and deaths (Tote) 1678-1875.
Family books (Familienbuch) are held at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland.
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
The following genealogies have been researched for Heiden families:
Künzler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,714)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Civil registration began in 1876. Heiden belongs to the Vorderland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
Surnames[edit | edit source]
The following surnames held citizenship in Heiden prior to 1875:
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
M. Rohner's book about the history and topography of Heiden is available at the Family History Library.
The town's website (in German) is located here.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell Ausserrhoden (in German)
References[edit | edit source]
Registry of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos