Heerlen Netherlands Military Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Bekijk deze website in het Nederlands, klik hier.
- 2 Area of service
- 3 How to Find Us?
- 4 Center Contacts and Hours
- 5 Planning a Visit
- 6 Calendar and Events
- 7 Center for Family History in Heerlen Holds Open House
- 7.1 Reason of this Open House
- 7.2 History in a nutshell
- 7.3 Family History Centers
- 7.4 What is there to do on the Open House?
- 7.5 Free family history research course.
- 7.6 How to save yourself a lot of time.
- 7.7 Class Schedule
- 7.8 Staff Training Meetings
- 7.9 Center Resources
- 7.9.1 What Is the FamilySearch Catalog?
- 7.9.2 The FamilySearch Catalog (formerly Family History Library Catalog) describes genealogical resources held by FamilySearch.org, the Family History Library, and selected FamilySearch Centers.
- 7.9.3 Collections
- 7.9.4 Databases and Software
- 7.10 Hardware and Equipment
- 7.11 Center Services
- 7.12 Staff Research Specialties
- 7.13 Resources in the Local Area
- 7.14 Links
- 7.15 Volunteer at the Center
Bekijk deze website in het Nederlands, klik hier.[edit | edit source]
Area of service[edit | edit source]
Whether you are just beginning to trace your roots or need additional resources to complete your search, the Heerlen Family History Center offers access to the extensive resources available through FamilySearch International. The Heerlen Family History Center serves the area in the Dutch province of Limburg the city of Weert and southbound and the complete Belgian province of Limburg. The center is open to the public and the admission is free of charge. Everyone is welcome! We can arrange for group visits by confirmed reservation ONLY.
How to Find Us?[edit | edit source]
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location & Map: https://showmystreet.com/map-streetview/#uam03_3k2p4_44.0_1g42
Address: Burgemeester de Hesselleplein 26a, 6411 CH, Heerlen
Language: Dutch and English.
- Drive through the gate depicted with the link above. This will be kept open during the open hours of the Family History Center. After 50 meters on the left hand side you will find the church building in which the Family History Center is located. There are 15 free parking spots available in front of the building.
- Bus Stop Theater Heerlen, 450 meter, 5 minutes walk.
Phone: 00 31 (0)45-571 78 63
- Wednesday: 19:00-21:00 h.
- Thursday: 13:00-16:00 h.
- Saturday: 12:00-17:00 h.
Planning a Visit[edit | edit source]
Our Family History Center is staffed by Regional Family History Consultants who can help get you started with family history research. They can guide you in using Family History Center resources and equipment. If you're planning a visit to our center to begin your genealogy, write down what you know about the family you wish to research: Names, birth / marriage / death dates, and Birth /Marriage / Death City and State. Choose a research goal: for example - 2 generations back. This will help our volunteers to best teach you where to look.
♥Please call and confirm group visits in advance.♥
Find a Family History Center and FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries near you. https://www.familysearch.org/locations/#
Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]
Center for Family History in Heerlen Holds Open House[edit | edit source]
Date: Saturday 7 September 2019
Time: 12.00 - 15.00 hours
Location: Center for Family History, Mayor de Hesselleplein 26a, 6411 CH Heerlen
Church building of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The motto of this OPEN HOUSE is: LOOK UP YOUR NAME WITH US AND CLIMB IN YOUR FAMILY TREE.
FamilySearch.org presents; Unique unsurpassed family history research method by computer - Simpler and above all much faster - Lots of expert help present with the introduction of a new system of research - Free Registration for the Family History Research Course.
Reason of this Open House[edit | edit source]
The increasing interest in family history and everything that has to do with looking up deceased relatives is the reason for holding a Genealogical Open House at the Family History Center in Heerlen.
Everyone is welcome on Saturday 7 September 2019 from 12:00 to 15:00. The address is Burgemeester de Hesselleplein 26a in the center of Heerlen.
History in a nutshell[edit | edit source]
In 1938, the Genealogical Society of Utah (GSU), now FamilySearch, began microfilming archives. Since then, it has done so in more than 200 countries. This is a widely used way of storing data from old archives.
FamilySearch's global archive capture projects currently produce more than 80 million images per year. FamilySearch has copies of virtually all acts of birth, marriage and death as well as baptisms, marriages and burials in the Netherlands, Belgium and Germany that have been released for publication.
In the last 9-10 years, the GSU has almost completely digitized its more than 2.5 million microfilm rolls, which can be searched via its Internet website www.FamilySearch.org. FamilySearch.org recently published its 2.5 billionth digital image of historical records. This brings the total of searchable annals and images to more than 5.8 billion.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch has more than 5,100 family history centers in 140 countries around the world. The centers are branches of the Family History Library, often located in church buildings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Their goal is to help people with their genealogy and to provide help and access to genealogical material and software provided by FamilySearch.
What is there to do on the Open House?[edit | edit source]
Throughout the day, one can access the Internet free of charge using one of the 15 computers available to search through the reports of your own ancestors. Not only under the guidance of expert help, but at the same time a very special algorithm is used to help the researcher identify their ancestors with surgical precision. This new tool is called "Record Hints" and it is an unsurpassed new system that still needs a lot of introduction and people can get straight to work with it. The experts present assists them in this, which means that the visitors who make use of it can immediately be successful.
Free family history research course.[edit | edit source]
On this open day you can also register for a free family history research course for beginners including learning how to handle this new unsurpassed system. Instead of just a family history course with little personal attention, one is not only instructed one-on-one, but also with the help of the student's own ancestry as training material. So you can immediately start working with your own ancestry. Upon completion of the course, the student will not only be able to carry out fully independent research into his or her ancestors, but will now also be able to do so much faster and much easier than was previously possible with the internationally largest and most digitized microfilm images collection online.
We would like to reach as many people as possible in order to introduce this new system to them, after which, after attending a free course in family history research, they are ready to learn how to apply the new system in their own lives. This requires some preparation but it is easy to learn because it is so well prepared. We would like to serve all people who want to try to satisfy their burning desire to know who their ancestors are, completely free of charge. These are now much easier and much faster to look up with the new system, INTERNATIONALLY! There are no longer any country borders with the new system.
How to save yourself a lot of time.[edit | edit source]
If you would like to have enough time to be accompanied, please take the time to prepare yourself. Then your research will be much quicker at the Open Day on the spot. The best thing to do is to create your personal account on www.FamilySearch.org and then create yourself, your parents and your grandparents.
If you are younger than 30, take the time to inquire about some of your great-grandparents and fill them in at www.FamilySearch.org.
This will save you a lot of time while visiting the Center during the Open House as it will help you find your ancestors much quicker. This is highly recommended in order to benefit as much as possible on that day from the expert help that is present there and which would like to help you very much further.
How to create an account on FamilySearch.org? Here is a tutorial showing you how to do this;
Family Search: Creating an Account and Adding Yourself https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNvyIOKFj_A by David Willis 12 minutes.
Don't forget to bring your freshly created Username and Password along to log in on the Open Day together with the guidance.
If it does not work for you to create an account, no problem. The available expert help will be happy to do this for you, so that you don't have to miss anything on that day.
If you are interested in family tree research and you know who your grandparents are, then the Center for Family History, with its many free services, can in all probability help you further along.
For further information about the Open Day, please call and / or e-mail Jos van Gemert, tel. 00 31 45-57178 63 email@example.com , Leader Temple and Family History Consultants of the Center for Family History in Heerlen.
Class Schedule[edit | edit source]
Family history course with Records Hints Training for beginners. The dates and times will be announced during the open house training.
Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
What Is the FamilySearch Catalog?[edit | edit source]
The FamilySearch Catalog (formerly Family History Library Catalog) describes genealogical resources held by FamilySearch.org, the Family History Library, and selected FamilySearch Centers.[edit | edit source]
The Catalog is a guide to birth, marriage, and death records; census records; church registers; books; periodicals; family histories and many other records that contain genealogical information. These records may be searchable online, on microfiche or microfilm, in a book or in a computer file.
Some entries in the FamilySearch Catalog include images of records. When an image is available in the catalog, a camera icon will appear to the right of the microfilm note associated with that image.
Collections[edit | edit source]
(List additional collections you have such as the types of books and microfilm you have on indefinite loan; though you will not want to list every single item you have. Just give visitors to this page a general idea of your resources.)[edit | edit source]
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
What genealogy websites are available for free in the Heerlen Family History Center?[edit | edit source]
This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center only to premium family history websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Note: You must access the premium subscription websites from a family history center computer through the Family History Center Services Portal. If you try to access them using the links below, the websites require an individual subscription.
Premium Family History Website Descriptions;
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive—http://find.galegroup.com/bncn/
- This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
- Alexander Street Press, American Civil War—http://alexanderstreet.com/
- Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb/
- Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com/
- Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera: Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com/
- Social and Cultural History: Personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between A.D. 1600 and 2000.
- American Ancestors—http://www.americanancestors.org/
- Advance your family history research today with AmericanAncestors.org! Created by the expert staff at the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), America's founding genealogical organization, AmericanAncestors.org is the portal to the nation's leading resource for the highest-quality, comprehensive family history services. Consult with our expert staff, some of the most respected genealogists in the profession. Read the most significant original scholarship and important publications in genealogy. Access millions of exclusive and sought-after records online. Learn with in-depth online courses and webinars from expert staff. Explore the largest collection of original family history research materials in America. Ancestry.com—http://www.ancestry.com/ Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court records, land records, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
- ArkivDigital Online
- ArkivDigital https://app.arkivdigital.se/is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to use ArkivDigital Online.
- The online family history network for those who have New Zealand roots.
- findmypast makes it easy to research your United Kingdom ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records, and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.
- 1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website) https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-records/1911-census-for-england-and-wales
- The 1911 United Kingdom census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
- Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com)–http://www.fold3.com/
- Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
- With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online, Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has 2 million members who exchange genealogical information.
- The Genealogist—http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk
- This resource, available in centers in the United Kingdom only, contains English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists.
- ''This site is now available only in the United Kingdom. It is not available anywhere else.
- Kinpoint Premium—https://kinpoint.com
- Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history by letting you see what to work on at a glance, quickly find missing information in your family tree, and discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.
- MyHeritage—Library Edition—http://myheritagelibraryedition.com/research
- Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.
- The largest online newpaper archive. 12,100 newspapers from the 1700s to the 2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.
- Paper Trail—https://www.paper-trail.org
- Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
- Puzzilla—https://puzzilla.org Premium Services.
- The Puzzilla Descendants Viewer is a combination of free basic services plus subscription premium services that help researchers see descendants in FamilyTree using compact symbols that reveal patterns of incomplete research and other work in collateral-lines.
Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in FamilySearch.org´s Family Tree
Notes and troubleshooting
- Family History Center consultants can help you access the center's Family History Center Portal, where these premium family history websites are offered.
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
Hardware present at the center:
- 2 Computers with premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Internet access by Wi-Fi and cable.
- 1 All-in-One printer / scanner / copier / e-mail device connected to FamilySearch.org
- 1 Large flat screen for instructional purpose.
- 1 Beamer.
- 4 Microfilm readers.
Center Services[edit | edit source]
The center guides you with:
- your research: shows you how to find an online archive.
- start your family tree.
- the use of https://www.familysearch.org/en/ tools: family tree, illustration with photos and stories.
- search for information on indexed documents or partner sites (easy access):
- your debut in FamilySearch indexing. https://www.familysearch.org/indexing/
- advice and help to learn how to convert the dates of the Republican calendar into Gregorian from 1792 to 1806.
Memory sticks/jump drives can be used to download information from the computers.
Patrons may bring their own laptops for note-taking or entering information into personal genealogical programs, with the disclaimer that the owner is responsible for the security of the device. Wireless internet is currently available in the building, though there may be days when availability is limited due to updating, etc.
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
We have 4 Temple and Family History Consultants to assist you. These volunteers donate their time and some specialize in the following areas:
- • Dutch Research
- • Belgian Research
- • German Research
- • FamilySearch FamilyTree
• Third Party Programs
Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
Reyckheijt, Coriovallumstraat 9, 6411CA Heerlen.
Regionaal Historisch Centrum Limburg, Sint Pieterstraat 7, 6211 JM Maastricht
Links[edit | edit source]
(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)
Rijckheyt is the center where the historical archives and collections of the municipalities of Brunssum, Gulpen-Wittem, Heerlen, Nuth, Simpelveld and Voerendaal are managed and made available.
Regionaal Historisch Centrum Limburg (Regional Historical Center Limburg) https://www.rhcl.nl/nl
The Regional Historical Center Limburg...
- collects, manages and presents archives and collections of Limburg institutions and individuals, based on contemporary developments in the archival system;
- wants to interest the public in a multifaceted way in the past of Limburg;
- acts from a unique geographical, historical location (Euroregion)
- does and makes historical research possible.
FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You!: https://www.familysearch.org/ask/learningViewer/734
A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.
Rijksarchief in België https://search.arch.be/nl/
The website of the State Archives makes more than 34.8 million pages of genealogical sources (parish registers and civil records) accessible.
28,119 parish registers (including tables), which are kept in the various depots of the State Archives, can be consulted, as well as additions made available by other archival services.
The digitization of the registers of births, marriages and deaths has not yet been completed. As soon as the digital images have been processed, they will be added to the website. Where ten-yearly tables are available, these have also been scanned.
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)
We welcome volunteers from the community to serve in the Family History Center. It's a great way to help others and to learn by doing. You need not be an expert. Ability to use a computer and willingness to become familiar with the FamilySearch website and resources are key. Contact the Family History Center Leader Temple and Family History Consultants at the telephone or e-mail listed above for more information.