Heddal Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

Norway

Telemark County

Heddal

Guide to Heddal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Heddal (Hitterdal) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese	add here
Prosti	add here
Len 1599-1660	Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919	1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present	Telemark
Region	add here
Prestegjeld	N/A
Kommune	add here
Skifteretten	add here
Tinglag	N/A
Fogderi	Nedre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri	Nedre Telemarken
Skipreide	add here

Church Records

• Heddal clerical district contains priest and sexton records for the parishes Heddal (Hitterdal), Lisleherad (Lilleherred) and Notodden. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1648-1933.
  
  

• Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digtial Archives).

Census Records

• 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Heddal clerical district and includes Lisleherad parish. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is online as a database at Digitlarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1782: A special 1782 census for Heddal clerical district exists and used to be available on Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, it a link will be provided here.
  
  

• 1801 Census for Heddal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Lisleherad and Notodden, is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1865: for Heddal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Lisleherad and Notodden is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
    
    

• 1875: The 1875 census forHeddal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Lisleherad and Notodden, is available on on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1891: The 1891 census for Heddal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Lisleherad and Notodden is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1900: The 1900 census for Heddal clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Lisleherad and Notodden. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1910: The 1910 census for Heddal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.

Farm Names

19 Aakre 80 Aase nedre 36 Aasen 58 Aasildrud 39 Anonskaas

29 Bakka 1 Bamle 77 Baugerud 46 Bentsrud 59 Bergskot 20 Brekke 63 Brenna

30 Dalen 77 Dalene 79 Dalene 77 Duverud

23 Enggrav

79 Flaaten 59 Flaaterud

17 Gangvik 83 Gavlesjaa 47 Gjestrud 71 Glittenberg 75 Granabæk 72 Grini 75 Gulmundsrud 56 Gyving

16 Haaberg 57 Haugerud 82 Haugerud 10 Haugetuft 9 Hegna 42 Heibø 9 Hellem nordre 27 Herbjørnsrud 37 Hestøen 58 Hevre 66 Holland 28 Hollen nedre 15 Holte 60 Hovdejord 70 Huristveit nordre 43 Hvaala 35 Hvaalen

6 Ingulsrud

74 Jamtveit 63 Juteskar

83 Kaasa 3 Kjøivinglistykket 38 Kjønnekaasa 62 Kleppan 36 Klokkerrud 25 Kløften 72 Knurlien 22 Kolbjørnsrud

83 Langerud 83 Lien 83 Luten 37 Lysthus 79 Løkelien 25 Løken

76 Melaas 54 Midstrand 33 Moen 68 Moen 82 Myrehvarv

18 Nyhus 7 Nøsterud

34 Præstegaarden 34 Præstekrona 64 Præstekrona

49 Ramberg Midgaard 13 Rekaa nedre 76 Reskjem 33 Rinde 8 Rui nordre 68 Rui nordre 26 Rui østre 33 Ryen nedre

4 Sauer Midgaard 12 Seljord 37 Sem nordre 52 Simones 25 Smedsrud 74 Smylisaas 36 Spærud 58 Staaen 27 Steinsrud 21 Stiven nordre 55 Strand nordre 53 Strand søndre 53 Strandaas 41 Sætre

44 Tinne 39 Tinnes nordre 24 Tofsrud 78 Troserud 75 Tubbaas 48 Tungen 51 Tveitan 61 Tveitan 45 Tveiten 73 Tveiten

65 Undelaana

21 Viperud

63 Ylen nordre

76 Ødegaarden 83 Ødegaarden 79 Øen 2 Ørvella

Probate Records

Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.