To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Heaton Moor St Paul, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Heaton Moor St Paul, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heaton Moor St Paul.JPG

History[edit | edit source]

Heaton Moor St Paul is an ecclesiastical parish created from Heaton Norris, Lancashire

The church was built 1876 by Bird and Whittenbury, extended in 1896 and the octagonal tower added in 1900 by EP Oakley.

Heaton Moor is in the modern (post 1974) Metropolitan Borough of Stockport, mainly within the Heatons North ward. It was originally in the township of Heaton Norris, in the Salford hundred of Lancashire. Following the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act it was administered by Heaton Norris Local Board as part of the Stockport Poor Law Union. In 1913, Heaton Moor, as part of Heaton Norris was absorbed into Stockport, in the county of Cheshire.

Before the opening of the railway, Heaton Moor was agricultural land in Heaton Norris. The land supported pigs cattle and cereal. Heaton Norris was part of the Manchester barony of the Grelley family, but between 1162 and 1180 it belonged to William le Norreys. In the early 13th century, Heaton Norris was a sub manor of Manchester, it encompassed all of the Four Heatons. It was escheated (i.e. reverted) to the manor of Manchester around 1280. In 1322, there were 32 dwellings suggesting a population of 150, the ten freeholders of the escheated manor had the right to graze on common pasture and to cut wood. Evidence of this pre railway existence can be seen from the name Shaw Farm, Shaw Fold farm, and the road pattern Heaton Moor Lane, Shaw Lane, Shaw Fold Lane, Pin Fold, Green Lane. Parsonage Road and Cranbourne Grove follow the lines of ancient tracks.

The opening of Heaton Chapel railway station changed everything. Land was acquired, and street were planned. The houses and new buildings along Heaton Moor Road were of a grandiose scale with generous gardens. They were set back from the road, and have imposing stone gate posts. The new residential roads such as Broomfield Road, Derby Road Peel Moat Road which were built when agricultual land was acquired, have the same characteristic. The building and infilling continued into the Edwardian era. There were a wide range of sporting facilities, such as crown green bowling, tennis and golf. A substantial terrace of shops was built on Heaton Moor Road,with glass and cast iron awnings.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records[edit | edit source]

Heaton Moor St Paul, Cheshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
Heaton Moor St Paul, Cheshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1876-1915 1876-1915 1878-1932 1878-1932

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers for St. Paul's church, Heaton Moor, 1876-1964 An index for Cheshire parish registers is available in FamilySearch historical records collections
Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England; andformerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Heaton Moor is a parish within the township or district of Stockport.
Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 227.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1876-1964.
Baptisms, 1876-1964.
Baptisms, 1876-1951 (another filming).
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356363 Item 5
Marriages, 1878-May 1942.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356363 Items 6 - 10
Marriages, May 1942-1947. Burials, 1964-1989.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356364 Items 1 - 2

Heaton Moor- St Paul
Baptisms-1876-1950- MFPR 2055
Baptisms-1950-1980- Archives L227
Burials-1964-1989- MFPR 2056
Marriages-1887-1942- MFPR 2055
Marriages-1942-1947- MFPR 2056
Marriages-1947-1985- Archives L227

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Stockport


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records Heaton Norris to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites[edit | edit source]

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

[[