Heath, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Heath, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Heath All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Parish registers: 1682|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1668|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Heath is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire.
HEATH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 5¼ miles (S. E. by E.) from Chesterfield. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Heath parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Heath All Saints (1682) Parish Online Records|
Heath All Saints since 1954 transfer from North Wingfield, Derbyshire includes Holmwood
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1610 has deposited registers Bap 1692-1998 Mar 1682-1992 Burials 1682-1980 Banns 1754-1786,1955-1994
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Heath on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 459-462. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.