Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire|
Headon St Peter Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HEADON, a village and a parish in East Retford district, Notts. The village stands 3 miles N of Tuxford r. station, and 4 SE of East Retford. The parish contains also the hamlets of Upton and Thorpe and bears the name of Headon-with-Upton. There is a Methodist chapel. 
Headon cum Upton St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church and parish Headon St Peter
The Parish Church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also St peter's Church Wikipedia
This parish should not be confused with Upton, Nottinghamshire elsewhere in the county and diocese.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|HEADON CUM UPTON PARISH Online Records|
Headon St Peter
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1566-1947 Marriages 1577-1897 Burials 1566-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Headon cum Upton
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, [http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/entry_page.jsp?text_id=769180 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 28 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.