Headley, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Headley, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Headley All Saints Hampshire
|Hundred||Pre-1834 - Bishop's Sutton; Post-1833 - Alton|
|Poor Law Union||Headley Incorporation|
|Parish registers: 1539; For more records see Woodlands|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HEADLEY (All Saints), a parish, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Bishop's Sutton, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6½ miles (S. by W.) from Farnham..
For details of the civil parish see Headley East Hampshire Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1846-1869 see Farnborough registration district
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Headley, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|HEADLEY PARISH Online Records|
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Hampshire Census
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition
Genealogy from Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Reeves, J. A. A Short History of the Heighes Family of Hampshire. A history of the Heighes, de Heyes, Hayes, Heighes family starting from 1200-1870, including two Pedigree charts, with Seal of Andrew de Heyhes, c1250 and their Coats of Arms, various parishes of Headley, Kingsley, Selborne, E. Worldham. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 3, no.1, May 1976, pages 26-32. FAHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 456-459. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 13 December 2020.