Headless Cross, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to headless Cross, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Headless Cross, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Alcester; Bromsgrove|
|Registration District||Alcester; Bromsgrove|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1907|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
HEADLESS-CROSS, a village in Ipsley parish, Warwick, and Feckenham parish, Worcester, and a chapelry partly also in Tardebigg parish, Worcester. The village stands on the boundary between Warwick and Worcester, 2 miles W of Ipsley, and 5¼ SE of Bromsgrove r. station; and has a post office under Bromsgrove.
"The Bridge. A Centre for Christian Worship; Community Life. An Anglican Methodist Local Ecumenical Partnership. Traditional Anglican Methodist services. Fresh Expressions Café Church. Children's, Youth; Alternative services."
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 09 October 2013.
- The Bridge, Headless Cross. Accessed: 3 February 2012. See www.achurchnearyou.com/the-bridge-headless-cross/
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.