Hazlewood, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Hazlewood, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hazelwood St John the Evangelist Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
HAZLEWOOD, a township, in the parish of Duffield, union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (N.) from Derby. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hazlewood parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Hazlewood St John the Evangelist (1847) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1846-1912
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. The primary jurisdiction for Duffield was the Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) and the secondary jurisdiction was the Prerogative Court of Canterbury.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 454-456.ate accessed: 10 May 2013.