Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

Haywood County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Haywood County, Tennessee)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Haywood County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Facts
County seat: Brownsville[1]
Organized: November 3, 1823
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Indian Lands[2]
Neighboring Counties
Crockett  • Fayette  • Hardeman  • Lauderdale  • Madison  • Tipton
See County Maps
Courthouse
Haywood County Court House, Tennessee.jpg
Location Map
Location of Haywood County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Tennessee judge and historian John Haywood. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Haywood County Courthouse
1 N Washington Street
Brownsville, TN 38012
County Courthouse Phone: 731-772-2362
County Clerk Phone: 731-772-2362
Register of Deeds Phone: 731-772-0332

Haywood County Assessor of Property
11 South Lafayette Avenue
Brownsville, TN 38012
County Assessor Phone: 731-772-0432

Haywood County Chancery Court
100 South Dupree Street
Brownsville, TN 38012
Chancery Court Phone: 731-772-0122
Circuit Court Phone: 731-772-1112

Haywood County Archives
4110 US 70 Highway
PO Box 207
Brownsville, TN 38012
Archives Phone: 731-772-0380

County Clerk has marriage records from 1859
Divorce records 1941-1965 and probate records from 1826 to August 1982
Register of Deeds has land records and DDS214s [4], including land grants to 1831, German-American War discharges, and DD214 for wars WWI through the present.

County Assessor has city and county maps with parcel #s, including many old maps that date into the 1800s.

Chancery court has jurisdiction of probate records from August 1982 to present, divorce records, court records from 1965 to present, as well as guardianship, adoption, and property dispute records. According to Clerk and Master, Sarah Levy, Tennessee is one of only three states that continue to have separate courts for civil and criminal matters. The others being Mississippi and Delaware.
Index (by name/defendant) for 1808-1885. There are some old, boxed records still stored in the Court House vault. Contact the Clerk and Master at the above number for an appointment to access these records.

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Haywood County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[7]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1859 1908 1808 1793 1826 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost marriage records: 1823 to 1858. Loss was due to a fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1823 - Haywood County was created 3 November 1823 from Chickasaw Indian Lands. According to "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps", Haywood County was formed in 1823 from Madison County.
  • 1835 - A portion of Haywood County was taken to help form Lauderdale County.
  • 1872 - A portion of Haywood County was taken to help form Crockett County.
  • County seat: Brownsville[8]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information
West Tennessee county. Established 1823.

The county is named after Judge John Haywood (1762-1826), called "the father of Tennessee history."[10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Haywood County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Haywood County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 5,334
1840 13,870 160.0%
1850 17,259 24.4%
1860 19,232 11.4%
1870 25,094 30.5%
1880 26,053 3.8%
1890 23,558 −9.6%
1900 25,189 6.9%
1910 25,910 2.9%
1920 25,386 −2.0%
1930 26,063 2.7%
1940 27,699 6.3%
1950 26,212 −5.4%
1960 23,393 −10.8%
1970 19,596 −16.2%
1980 20,318 3.7%
1990 19,437 −4.3%
2000 19,797 1.9%
2010 18,787 −5.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Haywood County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Haywood County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

1810-1891

1840 Pensioners

1850

  • Carpenter, Mrs. V.K. Seventh Census of the United States, 1850, Haywood County, Tennessee population schedules Huntsville, Arkansas Century Enterprises, c1970 FHL US/CAN book 976.8223 X2

1880

  • Sistler, Barbara 1880 census Haywood County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennessee Byron Sistler and Associates, 2001 FHL US/CAN book 976.8223 X2

1891 Male Voters

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Haywood, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 10,000 entries.

Bibliography

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Haywood County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1820 and is located at the Courthouse, 1 N. Washington St., Brownsville, TN 38012-2561; Telephone: (731) 772-2362. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilmed copies of deeds 1823-1893 with indexes 1823-1905; and land grants and land entries 1793-1834.
  • TSLA has microfilm Roll #48 Deed Index-1826-1881. This microfilm is also available at the Elma Ross Library in Brownsville.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Crockett CountyMadison CountyHardeman CountyFayette CountyTipton CountyLauderdale CountyTN HAYWOOD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Haywood County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Haywood County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Haywood County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Haywood County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Haywood County click on the following city:

  • Brownsville TSLA currently has filmed issues from eight different newspapers that were published in Brownsville at various times with the earliest being 1838.
  • There is a new newspaper in Brownsville. The Brownsville Press began publication in October 2015. The Managing Editor, Tommie Rowell, stated that it is her understanding the paper is being microfilmed by the TSLA.
  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.

For deaths of Methodists in Haywood County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The County Court and the Chancery Court have responsibility for the probate records of Haywood County.
The following microfilms are available at the TSLA and also at the Elma Ross Library:

  • Roll #46 Wills-1826-1841
  • Roll #47 Wills-1841-44; 1852 - 1918
  • Roll #24 Inventories - Guardian, Administrators' & Executors' Settlements-1852-1866

Online Records and Indexes

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1826-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records. TNGenWeb
  • 1845-1852 - Smith, Jonathan Kennon Thompson. A Genealogical Quandary, Will Book D, 1845-1852, Haywood County, Tennessee. [N.p.: n.p.], 2003. Will book D no longer exists. The compiler located the related wills. A surname index is included. (FHL book 976.8223 P2s.)
  • 1826-1841 - Strictly By Name (see above).

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The original Haywood County Tax Books 1834-1888 are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1976, TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1007525-1007529. A 2016 interview with the County Trustee, Sonny Howse, revealed that Tax Books prior to 1959 are no longer kept at the Courthouse but are stored at the County Archives.

Book Abstracts and Indexes[11]

  • 1836 - Haywood Co., Tenn., Tax List 1836, District #1, Family Findings, Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct. 1971). For access, see Periodical section.
  • 1836 - "Haywood County, Tennessee-1836 Civil Districts," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 37, No. 4 (Winter 1990):164. For access, see Periodical section.
  • 1836 - Douthat, James L. 1836 Haywood County, Tennessee Civil Districts & Tax List. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2003. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8223 R4d; online: index and purchase details.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Digital Library;

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Haywood County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Haywood County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Elma Ross Public Library
1011 E Main St
Brownsville, TN 38012
Phone: 731-772-9534
E-mail: elmarosslibrary@bellsouth.net
Website

Genealogical Resources are available in the Reese J. Moses-Scallions Genealogy Room.

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Phone: 731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
Website

The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle (KY), Fulton (KY), and Hickman (KY) counties in Kentucky.

Tennessee State Library and Archives
403 7th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37243
615-741-2764
reference.tsla@tn.gov
Website

Selected published county histories, published local records, local records on microfilm, newspapers on microfilm, Selected manuscripts material, census records, and additional resources for Haywood County. Interlibrary Loan available on some items.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Haywood County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
Phone: 901-475-6608
E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu
Website


Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Haywood, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haywood_County,_Tennessee accessed 21 Dec 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Haywood County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haywood_County,_Tennessee, accessed 18 November 2019.
  10. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  11. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.