Haywood County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Haywood County

Guide to Haywood County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Waynesville
Organized: December 15, 1808
Parent County(s): Buncombe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buncombe  • Cocke (TN)  • Henderson  • Jackson  • Madison  • Sevier (TN)  • Swain  • Transylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaHaywoodCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-haywood.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Haywood County is located in the far western portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Tennessee. It was named for John Haywood, the state treasurer at the time.[2]

County Courthouse

Haywood County Courthouse
215 N Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828-452-6635
Haywood County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.
Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.[3]

Haywood County, North Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1808 1913 1809 1786 1903 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss

1932 Records were lost/destroyed during move into a new courthouse.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1808 Haywood County was established 15 December 1808 from Buncombe.
  • County seat: Waynesville[5]

Haywood County was formed from the western portion of Buncombe County in 1808. At the time of its formation, it stretched from Buncombe County to the Tennessee state line. In 1828, the western portion of Haywood County became Macon County. Parts of Haywood and Macon Counties were used to form Jackson county in 1851.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Haywood County, North Carolina:

  • Canton
  • Clyde
  • Hazelwood
  • Lake Junaluska
  • Maggie Valley
  • Waynesville

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Haywood County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

NC Haywood

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Haywood County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Haywood County:

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company L
- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

County Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

  • Haywood County Register of Deeds
    County Courthouse
    215 N Main Street, Suite 213
    Waynesville, NC 28786
    Holds vital records. Birth and death records are available from 1913. Marriage records are available from 1808.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Haywood County Public Library
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Haywood County Historical & Genealogical Society
    PO Box 444
    Waynesville, NC 28786
    Phone: 828-564-1044
    Website

Websites

  • Haywood County NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project, Inc.
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/haywood
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Haywood County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Haywood_County,_North_Carolina_Genealogy&oldid=3552449"