Hawes, Yorkshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Bainbridge Gilbert|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1687|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Hawes is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1739 from chapelry in Aysgarth, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Appersett, Bartersett, Bertersett, Widdale, Snaysholme, Wether Fell, and Mossdale.
HAWES, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Aysgarth, wapentake of Hang-West, N. riding of York, 17¼ miles (W.) from Middleham and 251½ (N W. by N.) from London; containing 1611 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, Sandemanians, and the Society of Friends. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hawes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hawes Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 447-450. Date accessed: 2013.