Haverhill, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Haverhill


Guide to Haverhill, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haverhill, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford; Risbridge
County Essex
Poor Law Union Risbridge
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clare
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Haverhill, is a small town, a parish, and subdistrict, in Risbridge district, Suffolk and Essex. The town stands on a head stream of the river Stour, and on the Colne Valley and Cambridge railway, 1 3/4 miles E of the boundary with Cambridgeshire, and 13 1/4 miles NW of Halstead. There are four dissenting chapels.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish records for this area are located in the FamilySearch Catalog under Suffolk.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist (Suffolk)
  • Independent/Congregational (Suffolk)
  • Presbyterian (Suffolk)
  • Society of Friends/Quaker (Suffolk)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Haverhill (Suffolk) on Genuki

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.